Moleskin Journal doodles

The last few days have been pretty busy around here, but I squeezed in some time here and there to doodle.  I found some great inspiration online, especially from Jenn Olson of Evolutions, she makes such awesome doodles! (I love how the internet connects you to so many creative people!!) Calling them doodles doesn’t do them justice tho, it doesn’t convey how intricate and detailed her creations are!  I’m hoping the more I doodle, the easier it will become to make MY drawings more intricate. I think that most of my doodles are either too bare, or crammed full, still trying to find a happy medium with that.

Here are a few pages from my cashier moleskin:

The cashier moleskin is the perfect size to take along in my bag with a couple Micron pens, so if I’m stuck waiting somewhere, I won’t be bored! I’ve left space on these pages to write quotes or thoughts, but so far I just keep doodling more instead of writing, can’t help myself!

Carved a stamp this morning, inspired by and following the tutorial from Balzer Designs found here. I love making my own stamps, but often they don’t turn out the way I want them too. This one tho, turned out just like I had hoped! ( I imagine using a ruler this time to measure and mark straight lines helped ;P)

The chevron pattern is everywhere right now, and I love it! Not as much as I love dots and circles, but past attempts to carve stamps with dots and circles on them has taught me it is better for me to just go buy those kinds of stamps lol. Stamp making can be addictive, and oh so much fun! I see the other erasers I have quickly becoming new stamps!

I find that my creativity comes and goes in different directions, and when I go with the flow it is so much easier to create and enjoy what I’m working on, rather than trying to force myself to work on something I’m just not feeling at the moment. So the hat I’m knitting is on the back burner. Even tho I only have ribbing left to do, it’s 6″ of ribbing into a black-hole; no matter how much I knit it stays the same length. So today I’m going to carve stamps and paint and just have a fun creative day, and get back to the knitting another day. Right now I need to go and stamp the chevron design excessively throughout my art journal and on anything else I can find! Thanks for stopping by!

A certain pup decided she wanted attention while I was typing. Can't resist that face!

About kittyisnotamused

I am an eclectic crafter whose hobbies currently include knitting, crochet, making journals, cooking, and quilting, although I have also been addicted to jewelry making, scrapbooking, sewing, and many others. My passion for creating runs a wide gamut and jumps back and forth from new hobbies to old often. I live with my hubby and our 3 pets: 1 grown puppy with the attention span of a goldfish, and 2 lazy chubby kitties. Kitties who, despite my best efforts to gain their enthusiasm, show no interest in what I'm working on except to lay on whatever it is occasionally. The hubby's reactions are better, which is why he gets many handmade items and the kitties only a few, but his reactions are usually confused smiles and nods with "thats great sweety!" The dog shows the most enthusiasm but mostly that translates into her trying to snot and eat whatever I am showing to her... I suppose thats just life tho :) Thanks for stopping in, feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in Doodles, pets, stamp carving and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Moleskin Journal doodles

  1. crickyn says:

    exciting doodling, love the textures and intricacies! a lot of time and work in these…

  2. I know what you mean about going with the flow. I’ve been writing songs for over 5 years, and haven’t touched a new one in months. But that’s ok, and the people around me who know my heart and creativity say it’s ok. So I’m all into mixed media right now. And maybe I need to make some stamps!

    • I think taking a break from something can be very helpful in letting you recharge and come back with better focus and new ideas. I know it might not work the same for everyone, but I have found it works for me! Following your creativity in another direction might be exactly what you need to be inspired to write new songs. And stamp making is very fun and addicting! Just warning you before hand…lol

  3. Jenn says:

    Nice work!! I definitely think the main thing is just to have fun! Whenever I’m drawing I find the more relaxed my mind gets, the more rich and organic my pages feel. 🙂 Keep at it and just let it be an outlet.

Leave a Reply

