Watercolors and lists (of course!)

Today I watched the video of “Water color sketching” week 2 from Strathmore workshops. (*Edit The Strathmore classes change each year and this one is no longer available.) So inspiring! The bonus video where the instructor paints a building from a photo is awesome! The painting turned out way cooler than the picture and she made it look so easy, I had to break out the paints! Have you ever watched the Bob Ross painting videos? The ones where you watch him paint from blank canvas to finished art and it looked so easy you think you could probably do it too? It was like that, but you didn’t need a bunch of different brushes and scrapers and expensive oil paints! I just played around a bit since I don’t use watercolors much, tried making color washes and doodling flowers and blending colors. Making one color bleed into the other is so cool! (sounds violent or morbid but totally isn’t, lol)  I really want to actually paint something, but don’t know what….something good for a beginner but not boring….hmm, have to think about that one. Here’s what I have so far:

I can’t bring myself to paint over the washes because I love how they look! I think I’m going to save this paper and turn it into a journal page in the future. I have no problem cutting it up, but I can’t paint over it! Maybe in the future I will be able to at least write over the colors…I also used the new stamp I carved that looks like wood grain. (How much fun is carving your own stamps?! So addicting!)

Got a little flower happy, doodling flowers and blending colors. The flowers ended up in the corner of my first page, in a page in my art journal, and all over their own page. And I don’t think I’m done with them cause you can never have too many flowers! Unless they are real and you are allergic, thats different….but anyway. Between the color washes and the flowers I am having a great time with the water colors! The strathmore workshops are free if you want to check them out.

30 Days of lists

I haven’t had any trouble keeping up with the lists like I thought I might. Attention span of a goldfish sometimes, but so far so good! Can’t believe we are at #11 already, the month is almost half over! (0_o)

You can see my newly carved stamps in List #10: a cloud, wood grain block, and gir (the robot disguised as a green dog from invader Zim) Can’t decide what I want to carve next!

List #9

List #10

List #11

Thanks for stopping by!!

About kittyisnotamused

I am an eclectic crafter whose hobbies currently include knitting, crochet, making journals, cooking, and quilting, although I have also been addicted to jewelry making, scrapbooking, sewing, and many others. My passion for creating runs a wide gamut and jumps back and forth from new hobbies to old often. I live with my hubby and our 3 pets: 1 grown puppy with the attention span of a goldfish, and 2 lazy chubby kitties. Kitties who, despite my best efforts to gain their enthusiasm, show no interest in what I'm working on except to lay on whatever it is occasionally. The hubby's reactions are better, which is why he gets many handmade items and the kitties only a few, but his reactions are usually confused smiles and nods with "thats great sweety!" The dog shows the most enthusiasm but mostly that translates into her trying to snot and eat whatever I am showing to her... I suppose thats just life tho :) Thanks for stopping in, feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in 30 Days of Lists, Art journal, Doodles, stamp carving and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Watercolors and lists (of course!)

  1. zakryc says:

    I really like the personalize stamps. I would have never thought about making my own…very creative.

  2. Fiber Lily says:

    I love the designs on the journal “Today I am” 🙂

  3. alirthome says:

    P.S. i nominated you for the Kreativ Blogger Award! Your posts are fun, keep up the good work 🙂

  4. Terri Morse says:

    Hi Sena! It looks like I’m not the only one playing with my art supplies today! I love the wood grain texture. Do you carve your stamps from rubber or linoleum? I do mine with rubber, but I’d like to try linoleum.

    • Hi Terri!, I’m pretty sure I used rubber to carve my stamps, it was in the stamp carving kit I bought recently. I’ve been having so much fun making my own stamps! Haven’t tried linoleum, but if you do, I’d love to see what you make!

  5. Terri Morse says:

    Oops! I think I just answered my own question. Somehow I missed the photo of your stamps. They’re very cool!

Leave a Reply

