Watercolor practice

Finished a watercolor painting today, the first real one I’ve attempted since starting the strathmore watercolor workshop. The instructor makes it look so easy, but I need a LOT more practice, lol. It was fun painting something other than color washes and flowers tho, trying to get the shadows and tones right, and noticing more detail in the photo than I had before. It was a lot of fun! I used mixed media paper, did a pencil sketch first, then used Daler Rowney Water color paints.

I did some paint splatters at the end, just for fun. I will definitely be looking for a new subject to paint soon! I still want to try some of the different techniques Cathy showed us in the lesson videos.

Even with the painting, still found some time to clean, do a load of dishes, and cook an awesome supper! When I skip sweeping around here for more than a day or 2, the dust bunnies tend to grow teeth and roam the floors in wild packs! Got to watch out for that! So over all it was a good day, I didn’t slack off entirely. ;P

The lists continue….#12-15

Sometimes my pen gets ahead of my brain and my spelling suffers greatly, so please ignore the typos 😦  Still a lot of pages left in my little list journal! Can’t wait to see them all done! And maybe start some more next month!

Thanks for stopping by!!

About kittyisnotamused

I am an eclectic crafter whose hobbies currently include knitting, crochet, making journals, cooking, and quilting, although I have also been addicted to jewelry making, scrapbooking, sewing, and many others. My passion for creating runs a wide gamut and jumps back and forth from new hobbies to old often. I live with my hubby and our 3 pets: 1 grown puppy with the attention span of a goldfish, and 2 lazy chubby kitties. Kitties who, despite my best efforts to gain their enthusiasm, show no interest in what I'm working on except to lay on whatever it is occasionally. The hubby's reactions are better, which is why he gets many handmade items and the kitties only a few, but his reactions are usually confused smiles and nods with "thats great sweety!" The dog shows the most enthusiasm but mostly that translates into her trying to snot and eat whatever I am showing to her... I suppose thats just life tho :) Thanks for stopping in, feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in 30 Days of Lists, Art journal and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Watercolor practice

  1. The water color is lovely…and I absolutely love your super-powers list πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

