Old Farm House Watercolor

I have always been fascinated with the story houses can tell. And also the stories they make you wonder about. Not every house catches my attention, but once in a while there is one that stands out. I’m not sure if its the way it looks, or the area its built on, but some houses make me stop and wonder about the story behind it, especially abandoned and run down houses. Who lived there? Did they watch the rain fall outside the windows? Did they have a dog that played in the yard? Were they happy? What was their story?

This farm house is one of those houses. Every time we would drive by, I always wondered about this house. It started to fall apart in recent years, I don’t know how long it had been empty, and eventually it was torn down ๐Ÿ˜ฆ But before that happened, I stopped and got some pictures.

It sat on a large area of land with rolling fields and big trees in the front yard, off of Highway 51 and Stitt Rd in Chippewa PA. It had a large barn nearby, and for years even though it didn’t look like the house was lived in, the fields were still planted and harvested. But eventually that stopped too, and the bails of hay were left in round bundles across the fields, untouched. I never got pictures of the barn, but might try painting it later by memory anyway.

Tried to paint from the pictures, and what I couldn’t see in the pics, or what was no longer there, like the porch roof, I tried to add and make it look like it belonged. Second try with the water colors, having fun but still need a lot of practice! I might go back and repaint the trees with acrylics, since that would be a bit thicker than the watercolors and help give the trees more body (if that makes sense) and appear fuller. I can’t seem to make the watercolor dark enough like it is in the picture. I definitely want to re-paint the house again, try to get the angles right, and I need the practice ๐Ÿ™‚

This is the drawing I did of the house before I painted it and you can see how the angles and dimensions are off, but over all I think it turned out decent for someone who doesn’t draw much.ย  The house looks like it was once a really nice house, you can see it in the details of the decorative scrolls at the corners and along the underside of the roof (sorry I have no architectural knowledge, I don’t know what any of that is actually called) and the small decorative windows to what looks like the attic with their colored squares of glass. I really wish I could find some old pics or info on the house when it was newer, but no matter where I looked online, couldn’t find anything. My curious nature wants to know what happened to the family who lived here and why they let the house, that was clearly well loved at one time, fall to pieces.

I really wish I could have looked inside before it was gone, but the house was condemned and the property was marked “no trespassing” so I couldn’t get closer than the driveway. I wonder if it had sensible wooden stairs, or maybe they were spiraled stairs, a bit more of the decorative flair like the attic windows and wooden scrolls! And I wonder what the kitchen looked like, and if they sat in the screened in porch and watched the sun set on summer evenings. I really wish I could go back in time and see it in its glory days!

About kittyisnotamused

I am an eclectic crafter whose hobbies currently include knitting, crochet, making journals, cooking, and quilting, although I have also been addicted to jewelry making, scrapbooking, sewing, and many others. My passion for creating runs a wide gamut and jumps back and forth from new hobbies to old often. I live with my hubby and our 3 pets: 1 grown puppy with the attention span of a goldfish, and 2 lazy chubby kitties. Kitties who, despite my best efforts to gain their enthusiasm, show no interest in what I'm working on except to lay on whatever it is occasionally. The hubby's reactions are better, which is why he gets many handmade items and the kitties only a few, but his reactions are usually confused smiles and nods with "thats great sweety!" The dog shows the most enthusiasm but mostly that translates into her trying to snot and eat whatever I am showing to her... I suppose thats just life tho :) Thanks for stopping in, feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in Life, Painting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Old Farm House Watercolor

  1. jamieaaron03 says:

    I think your water color came out good! I love old houses too. I think it’s easy to imagine “what it might have been like” when they are abandoned, because you don’t have the ppl there cluttering your thoughts. There are a lot of old places I love, one right by my house, but their is an old @$$ man living next door who yells at people for just looking at it. He’s such a jerk. I did a lot of investigating, and even talked to the owner on the phone.
    Now I want to visit some of my favorite places and sketch them in a notebook ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I love old abandoned buildings, and I think they just get more interesting with age. Whenever I drive anywhere new, I always keep my eyes open for “new” abandoned buildings I haven’t seen before. As for the old house near you, maybe you could causally walk by and sneak some pictures. Even if the old man yells at you, you could out run him!! lol. That’s exciting that you got to talk to the owner, I couldn’t find any info on who owned the old farm house anywhere :/ I wish I knew who owns/owned it. I hope you are able to go check out the old house, maybe when the neighbor is out, and I would love to see your sketches of the old buildings!

      • jamieaaron03 says:

        I’ll have to sit down and make a blog about it, I have a lot of pics, the only bad this is I use a film camera a lot and have not scanner ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Leave a Reply

