Lists, lists, lists! And some stamps..

We are up to List #20 for the 30 Days of Lists, I can’t believe March is almost over already! Between the lists, the stamp carving, and the watercolor painting I have been staying busy and my kitchen table has stayed a big mess!

List #16-19

In the last list I used 2 of the stamps I made recently, a chevron and a “him and her” stamp. I also added a butterfly detail because just the writing and stamps seemed too plain.

I am loving making my own stamps! I am trying to make some that aren’t specific to one theme, I don’t want to be limited to using them only for certain occasions. These are the stamps I’ve made so far:

Could I get more random than this bunch? Probably…… we shall see in the future! lol. The 2 white stamps are carved from erasers using and x-acto knife, but the rest are made from this kit:

If you are going to try stamp carving, I recommend the other kit by Speedball that has a different handle and more blades. You will need to buy the rubber block separate but you get a more blades and a better handle. This one came with a block of rubber and 2 carving tips, instructions and a wooden handle. A better variety of blades would have been great with some of the stamps I made, especially a smaller blade for more detail. Also the blades for this one slide into the handle and are held in place with a dowel rod, it doesn’t seem like it will take long for that to wear out and then blades won’t stay in place.

But even with only 2 blades to choose from, stamp carving is so awesome! I have been keeping a list of ideas for stamps I want to make, and I am definitely going to need to get another rubber block! 🙂

About kittyisnotamused

I am an eclectic crafter whose hobbies currently include knitting, crochet, making journals, cooking, and quilting, although I have also been addicted to jewelry making, scrapbooking, sewing, and many others. My passion for creating runs a wide gamut and jumps back and forth from new hobbies to old often. I live with my hubby and our 3 pets: 1 grown puppy with the attention span of a goldfish, and 2 lazy chubby kitties. Kitties who, despite my best efforts to gain their enthusiasm, show no interest in what I'm working on except to lay on whatever it is occasionally. The hubby's reactions are better, which is why he gets many handmade items and the kitties only a few, but his reactions are usually confused smiles and nods with "thats great sweety!" The dog shows the most enthusiasm but mostly that translates into her trying to snot and eat whatever I am showing to her... I suppose thats just life tho :) Thanks for stopping in, feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in 30 Days of Lists, stamp carving and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Lists, lists, lists! And some stamps..

  1. Wow! Your homemade stamps are so cool! Adding to my list of things to try and make (and that list is getting LONG!)

  2. Fiber Lily says:

    Thanks for sharing this. Your stamps are so full of personality. It’s on my list of things to try. 🙂

Leave a Reply

