Getting back into things

Had a great weekend away with my hubby and our dog Waffles. We went up to the outer banks and checked out the lighthouses, played on the beach, and saw a bunch of the painted horses that can be found displayed along hwy 12 as part of the “winged horse extravaganza”.

When we were on our honeymoon we saw quite a few of the painted horses, but this time we saw some we had missed before.

From what I have been able to find about them online, there were 99 winged horses painted and displayed for the Wright bothers 100th anniversary of flight, and although some of the horses were auctioned off, many are still on display along the outer banks. Its fun to spot them as you drive along, and no two are the same.

We got to see 3 of the lighthouses  located along the outer banks, Currituck, Bodie, and Cape Hattteras. Although there are more we didn’t have enough time to get around to them, and as far as I know the rest have to be reached by ferry. Hopefully next time we will have a chance to see more!

Currituck Lighthouse

Bodie Lighthouse

Cape Hatteras Lighthouse

-The old location of the Cape Hatteras Lighthouse marked by stones with the dates and names of the lighthouse keepers who served at the lighthouse, and some of the man-made breakers that were built to try and prevent the beach erosion that later led to the lighthouse being moved.

I loved learning about the history of the lighthouses (my obsession with buildings’ histories is not limited to just old houses!) and I can’t wait to see the other lighthouses! Thankfully until then, there is always the wonderful internet to read about them and their stories.

It was cloudy and we got rained on a bit but we still had fun . Waffles especially had a good time, she loved being along and included in the trip, and she loves going for a car ride!

-Don’t let the cute face fool you, she is a brat. She totally waited until we were all in the car again to shake the water off when she got rained on…….what a dog!

Sunday we went to the beach early and found it pretty much deserted. That allowed us to let Waffles off of her leash for some playtime! She is not a fan of the waves, but she loves playing on the beach, and it tired her out for the 4 hour car ride home.

It was a great weekend 🙂

Trying to get back into the swing of things tho, even after just a short time away, is proving a slow process for me. I think a lot of it has to do with sleeping badly in the hotel bed and trying to catch up on my sleep and get back to my normal sleeping habits. I did manage to get some painting done yesterday, although no finished pages yet, but I am behind on my 30 Days of lists (0_o) Like 4 lists behind… I totally forgot about them while we were gone even tho I had my list journal and pens. Whoops!

I hope you had a great weekend too!

About kittyisnotamused

I am an eclectic crafter whose hobbies currently include knitting, crochet, making journals, cooking, and quilting, although I have also been addicted to jewelry making, scrapbooking, sewing, and many others. My passion for creating runs a wide gamut and jumps back and forth from new hobbies to old often. I live with my hubby and our 3 pets: 1 grown puppy with the attention span of a goldfish, and 2 lazy chubby kitties. Kitties who, despite my best efforts to gain their enthusiasm, show no interest in what I'm working on except to lay on whatever it is occasionally. The hubby's reactions are better, which is why he gets many handmade items and the kitties only a few, but his reactions are usually confused smiles and nods with "thats great sweety!" The dog shows the most enthusiasm but mostly that translates into her trying to snot and eat whatever I am showing to her... I suppose thats just life tho :) Thanks for stopping in, feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in Life, pets, Travels and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Getting back into things

  1. zakryc says:

    Those pictures make me jealous…I wish I could go to the beach 🙂

  2. Nice lighthouses! And thanks for stopping by Raincoast Studio – on the other side of the continent..
    Good stamps, too – I’ve been meaning to give stampmaking a try!

    • Stamp making is so fun, I absolutely recommend it! And I loved being able to see the lighthouses in our area, they are so interesting and full of history! Thanks for dropping in!

  3. Beautiful pics, glad you had a great time 🙂

    BTW, you’re it! I got tagged in a game of blog tag, and you’re it…you can see the post about the game over our blog and find out the details. No obligation to play, but I do hope you’ll join in the fun. And what a fun way to share with everyone how much I love your blog.
    xoxo MotherDana

  4. Pingback: From my travels | Kitty is Not Amused...

Leave a Reply

