Can you say “new addiction” ?

I have been seeing these cute little decorative envelopes in the scrapbooking section at the local craft stores lately, in different sizes and cool patterns, not your average old envelopes. And every time I think about buying them, I think to myself, “I could make my own….” but I never do, mostly because it is a pain to try and make them fold properly. Well today I went to Michael’s and saw they had a scoring board from Martha Stewart crafts on sale for 50% off, with simple directions to make your own envelopes and even small boxes. 🙂 I had to get one! Since I got home I have been an envelope making fiend! It is so addictive, any paper can now be a cute little envelope! Or a bigger, less cute, but still awesome envelope. I’ve already used one whole sheet of 14×17 paper that I painted on from the Strathmore online workshop with Traci Bautista to make a bunch of envelopes, as well as some different scrapbook papers. I’ve even been playing with decorating the envelopes with washi tape and paper doilies, there are so many options!!

These are just a couple of the envelopes made so far 😉 So much fun!! The scoring board is easy to use and comes with everything you need, except paper. And I am in no way at a shortage with that……lol. I also picked up some new washi/paper tapes from Recollections, alcohol inks from Tim Holtz, and molding paste, lots of fun new goodies!

This is what my table looks like, creative chaos 🙂 Its going to be a fun day!!

About kittyisnotamused

I am an eclectic crafter whose hobbies currently include knitting, crochet, making journals, cooking, and quilting, although I have also been addicted to jewelry making, scrapbooking, sewing, and many others. My passion for creating runs a wide gamut and jumps back and forth from new hobbies to old often. I live with my hubby and our 3 pets: 1 grown puppy with the attention span of a goldfish, and 2 lazy chubby kitties. Kitties who, despite my best efforts to gain their enthusiasm, show no interest in what I'm working on except to lay on whatever it is occasionally. The hubby's reactions are better, which is why he gets many handmade items and the kitties only a few, but his reactions are usually confused smiles and nods with "thats great sweety!" The dog shows the most enthusiasm but mostly that translates into her trying to snot and eat whatever I am showing to her... I suppose thats just life tho :) Thanks for stopping in, feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in Art journal, crafting, Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Can you say “new addiction” ?

  1. Now my “to try” craft list is back up to 500! Those envelopes are awesome 🙂

  2. zakryc says:

    Maybe I should start sending my bills in one of these types of envelopes…that would surely get some good laughs.

  3. OOOOOH, that looks like such fun!! I’ve been pondering one of those kits for a long time. What a great way to use some fun art papers! Love them 🙂
    xoxo MotherDana

  4. Pingback: Is it really Monday?! « Kitty is Not Amused…

  5. dnissse says:

    I found it funny that you said you could just make your envelopes because that’s what I constantly say when I’m at a store! I figure why buy it when I can have fun making it myself?(: Anyways, these are lovely creations and I was wondering what you used for the ‘swirly/scribbly’ envelopes?

    • Hi! I used a background paper I made from the Strathmore online workshop #1; using watered down acrylic paints, black india ink, gel pen, and sharpie paint pens to decorate my paper. It was 14″x17″ so I could get a lot of envelopes out of it, depending on their size. I also painted the reverse side before I cut the paper up, although I didn’t like how that side turned out 😦 I hope that answers your question, thanks so much for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

