Playing with some “new” embellishments

I was feeling kinda “meh” towards doing anything yesterday, and I was afraid that I wouldn’t have any ideas or inspiration for working in my art journal. But I had a page already started and I was going to add a couple of colors of paint and see where it went from there. When I was done adding the paint, I had quite a bit left over. I hate to waste paint so it finds a home on an empty page or a page in progress, and there was a particularly unlikable page that I thought might need some help. So I started covering the page, and I liked how the colors were merging together a lot! Then as that started to dry, there was a baggy that I had stored my paint pallet in overnight in the fridge to keep the paint from drying out with some paint on it. I closed the baggy and smooshed the paint around until it was starting to blend together, cut around the edges and used the two halves of plastic to “stamp” the smooshes onto my journal page.

As that was drying I went through some of my old scrapbooking supplies and found some “new” things that would work great in my journal! There was some mini mirrors, some label holders, some acrylic blocks with designs on them, and some rub-on stickers and mini beads.The rub on stickers were really cool, but I don’t know if they are even made anymore because I bought them on clearance a few years ago.

One thing led to another and soon the ideas were flowing! Before long I had a nearly finished page and it wasn’t the one I had started with, lol. This morning I added some purple splats with watered down acrylic paint and an eye dropper, inked the edges of the page, and added the words “Explore your world”.

Not all my new found items got used, but I’m happy with the page and I had fun playing around with some “new” embellishments. I’m also happy that when I look through my art journal that ugly page won’t be looking back 🙂

Hope you are having a fun creative day!

About kittyisnotamused

I am an eclectic crafter whose hobbies currently include knitting, crochet, making journals, cooking, and quilting, although I have also been addicted to jewelry making, scrapbooking, sewing, and many others. My passion for creating runs a wide gamut and jumps back and forth from new hobbies to old often. I live with my hubby and our 3 pets: 1 grown puppy with the attention span of a goldfish, and 2 lazy chubby kitties. Kitties who, despite my best efforts to gain their enthusiasm, show no interest in what I'm working on except to lay on whatever it is occasionally. The hubby's reactions are better, which is why he gets many handmade items and the kitties only a few, but his reactions are usually confused smiles and nods with "thats great sweety!" The dog shows the most enthusiasm but mostly that translates into her trying to snot and eat whatever I am showing to her... I suppose thats just life tho :) Thanks for stopping in, feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in Art journal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Playing with some “new” embellishments

  1. Florence says:

    Popped over from Michelle’s blog to say Hi. Great journal pages.
    Regards Florence x

Leave a Reply

