Pardon my rant….

So we have Directv. And Directv gets some of its channels from a company called Viacom. Many of the big named channels like Spike, VH1, Comedy Central, Nick, and MTV, are owned by Viacom. Viacom has decided that its programs and channels are worth a lot of money, despite declining numbers in viewers all across the board. Many of Viacom’s programs can be watched on netflix, appleTv (had no idea what this was, had to look it up. Apparently it is a little box you purchase from apple that you plug into your tv and you can stream movies, tv shows, videos, pictures, and music, basically you have a computer on your tv. I can never keep up on this stuff.) hulu, and other streaming services. But despite declining viewers, Viacom wants directv to let them charge customers 30% more for the exact same channels we were already getting, giving Viacom over $1 billion dollars more than what they already make. Here are all the Viacom channels that have been removed from our service, but that we are still currently paying for: (Viacom is not the only ones ripping off their customers…..) Palladia, Centric, Tr3s, CMT, Logo, NickToons, VH1 Classic, TeenNick, Nick Jr., Nick@Nite, Spike, BET, VH1, TV Land, Comedy Central, Nick, and MTV.

Now, of all those shows, I know what about 8 of them are. Of those 8 I can identify, I actually watch only 2. Even then, 90% of the time, there is nothing on either on of them that I want to watch(or any of the other 200 channels we get, for that matter). Switching companies wont help, because Viacom is trying to force the other tv providers to let them charge more as well. So why in the world would I agree to pay 30% more for channels and shows I don’t even watch?? The answer is, I won’t. I will be cancelling our Directv, even tho that means having to pay an early termination fee. Directv will charge us $20 per month for each month left on our contract. That can add up to a lot. But, if you think about it, paying $60 a month for the rest of our contract is a LOT more expensive.

I know some people watch a lot of television and losing shows they like to see might upset them. Me? Doesn’t bother me in the slightest. I have never been very attached to tv, especially these days when there are soooo many stupid shows on. So instead of sitting down to see what’s on tv, there will be more movie watching, book reading, game playing, puppy playtime, painting, and generally having a life that isn’t wasted sitting on the couch watching tv. The only thing I’m gonna miss? Rachael Rays 30 minute meals 😦 But not enough to pay $60+ a month for it

Greedy companies make me so ANGRY!!!

About kittyisnotamused

I am an eclectic crafter whose hobbies currently include knitting, crochet, making journals, cooking, and quilting, although I have also been addicted to jewelry making, scrapbooking, sewing, and many others. My passion for creating runs a wide gamut and jumps back and forth from new hobbies to old often. I live with my hubby and our 3 pets: 1 grown puppy with the attention span of a goldfish, and 2 lazy chubby kitties. Kitties who, despite my best efforts to gain their enthusiasm, show no interest in what I'm working on except to lay on whatever it is occasionally. The hubby's reactions are better, which is why he gets many handmade items and the kitties only a few, but his reactions are usually confused smiles and nods with "thats great sweety!" The dog shows the most enthusiasm but mostly that translates into her trying to snot and eat whatever I am showing to her... I suppose thats just life tho :) Thanks for stopping in, feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pardon my rant….

  1. fiberlily says:

    Love your new header. I wonder if rachel ray is on you tube or net flicks.

Leave a Reply

