Welcome to a really random post!

The weather has been wonderful here the last few days, like open-the-windows I-can’t-believe-it’s-Jan sort of weather. I. Am. Loving. It!

Also loving some super cute washi tapes!!DSC_1533DSC_1529

How awesome are the postal stripes, and the gears?! Good grief! Love!! (Have I ever mentioned my growing addiction to washi tape? No? Well, washi tapes [basically decorated masking tape, and as far as I know the term “washi tape” is Japanese] are super cute and you can put them on pretty much everything from journal pages to packaging and so much more. So of course it is perfectly natural to obsess and hoard all kinds of washi cuteness!) And to go with my super cute airmail stripe tapes, I also ordered a great paris postal rubber stamp too! I’m thinking there will be an airmail themed journal in my future ๐Ÿ™‚ The gears tape I bought because I love gears and,ย  as I have already pointed out washi tape rocks, therefor washi tape with gears on it is super duper awesome! The airmail tapes (which by the way, didn’t come with the tiny paint splatters on them, that was just me having them too close when I was using some spray paints), yellow gears tape, and the rubber stamp are from LePaperCafe on etsy, and the bottom two tapes are Tim Holtz. Another great shop on Etsy to find cute washi tapes is PrettyTape.ย  I think I have favorited 85% ofย  their shop, so many awesome and cute washi tapes! I could really go crazy and order millions of different tapes if I had the money ๐Ÿ˜›

Here’s my whole washi collection, and it could really be much bigger, so clearly there actually isn’t a problem yet!the collection

See? Not that bad ๐Ÿ™‚ Unlike my yarn collection for instance, which has taken over quite a lot of space if I’m honest. Doesn’t mean there is a problem with it really, just a reduced amount of movable room in my crafting area. And you can’t safely open the closet door without bracing yourself first. But still…that happens to everyone right? ๐Ÿ™‚

Onto more randomness! I finally got the chance to try out the golden heavy bodied acrylics my Hubby got me for christmas, and they are wonderful! I love how the colors blend and smoosh together, and I even talked my Hubby into trying them out with me on a canvas! It was so much fun! This is what we have so far:Playing with color

I’m not sure if its done or if it needs a little bit more, but for right now it is sitting in my craft room making me smile every time I look at it! I’ve never painted with someone else before so it was a new experience. And it was fun toย  do something with my Hubbs that we have never done before! I don’t know that I have passed along the painting bug to him, I might have to convince him to play with the paints some more first, but I’m working on it! ๐Ÿ™‚

Journal it

If you haven’t had a chance to check out “Journal It” by Jenny Doh, you really should! It features a variety of journal pages from 19 different artists, and gives you a little bit about each artists background, and their favorite techniques and tips. A wonderful inspiration for whatever journal style you use! I keep going back to it lately when I’m not sure what I want to do in my journal, and I love all the different styles found in its pages! Super happy ๐Ÿ™‚

What is your favorite crafty book? And what is your collection/obsession currently? Would love to hear what others are hoarding because you never know when I might need a new thing to “collect” or obsess overย  ๐Ÿ™‚ lol

So…I did say it was going to be a random post… ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for hanging in there!

About kittyisnotamused

I am an eclectic crafter whose hobbies currently include knitting, crochet, making journals, cooking, and quilting, although I have also been addicted to jewelry making, scrapbooking, sewing, and many others. My passion for creating runs a wide gamut and jumps back and forth from new hobbies to old often. I live with my hubby and our 3 pets: 1 grown puppy with the attention span of a goldfish, and 2 lazy chubby kitties. Kitties who, despite my best efforts to gain their enthusiasm, show no interest in what I'm working on except to lay on whatever it is occasionally. The hubby's reactions are better, which is why he gets many handmade items and the kitties only a few, but his reactions are usually confused smiles and nods with "thats great sweety!" The dog shows the most enthusiasm but mostly that translates into her trying to snot and eat whatever I am showing to her... I suppose thats just life tho :) Thanks for stopping in, feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in Art journal, Life, Painting and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Welcome to a really random post!

  1. Pingback: Free Fallin’ | Kitty is Not Amused...

Leave a Reply

