Some backgrounds

*Just to let you know, this is a pretty good example of why you probably shouldn’t write when your tired. Your sense of humor gets a little weird and random. But I thought it was still funny the next day, so I’m posting it anyway. I hope you enjoy!

So….I used to only have one art journal. Just one. I had sketch books and other notebooks, stuff like that. But only one book where I did my art journaling. Then today I realized it has gotten a bit out of hand. I still have the book I was originally working in, with about 20-ish blank pages left, but I also have the loose pages I started for the writing prompts from “Journal Fodder 365”, and the loose pages from NaNoJouMo, two handmade art journals with a few pages in them worked on (I had forgotten about these until I was just looking at my shelves),Β  random loose pages I used to test out some new watercolor paper and techniques, and a spiral bound strathmore mixed media journal.{whew! What a list } There is also a small spiral bound notebook with blank white pages that I have been doodling in, but I don’t count that as art journaling so I wont include it in the list. It keeps one more thing off my growing list so it doesn’t seem as bad…. anyway, back to the point. Actually I’m not sure had a point, so I will just continue on without one.

All this talk of art journals was leading (in a random and confusing sort of way) to talking about Creative Jump Start 2013 and showing you some of the pages I made using techniques from there. And other pages that didn’t have anything to do with Creative Jump Start 2013. And to add to the growing confusion, I might even throw in random pictures, just to throw you off. “Off of what?” you may ask. I have no idea. So, there it is. By the way, Creative Jump Start 2013 is a free month long video course held by Nathalie Kalbach to get you inspired creating in 2013! You can check it out/sign up here if your interested, and can go back to check out the days you have missed so far. There are a bunch of amazing artists involved and a ton of techniques to try! Speaking of, here are the pages I have been meaning to show you through this whole spiel:

SplattersRed and yellow

Paper towel

The top two pages are made using a technique from CJS 2013, using layers of paint and water (top page was NOT primed with gesso, the middle one was primed. The middle one you can see the splatters better. Not sure if it was the different paint or the gesso underneath.), and the third page is the remnants of the paper towel I used on the first two pages because I loved how it looked!

WatercolorThis was part of a prompt for CJS 2013, but the artist in the video for this prompt drew in flowers on hers, then colored around them with paint so the flowers were bright and colorful and the background was solid. I had a hard time seeing the flowers in mine, and so for now it is only partially completed.

CirclesThis page was also made from one of the prompts in CJS 2013, and while I don’t love the finished result this time, I did have a lot of fun with the technique.

Watching the outside worldRandom cat picture (I did warn you πŸ˜› )

gelatos test

This page I tried out gelatos from Faber Castell for the first time (gelatos are a kind ofΒ  water soluble smudgy paint/crayon in a chapstick tube. Not an official description but pretty fitting. Gelato is also the Italian word for ice cream. Not sure why you would name your art supply after a yummy treat, as they are not edible, but it is what it is.)

pink and purple

This page originally had watercolor doodles on it, and I hated how it looked. So I covered it up with golden liquid acrylics and then added gesso. The paint wasn’t quite dry yet so the gesso picked up some of the color. I love how it looks and haven’t been able to bring myself to add anything else to it yet although I am thinking that it might need some flowers, maybe roses…

And to top this post off:Awesome lizardA picture of one of the cool little lizards that hang out around our house in the summer and fall πŸ™‚

Thanks for hanging in there despite my randomness. I hope at least some of this post inspired your creativity, and/or made you smile πŸ™‚

About kittyisnotamused

I am an eclectic crafter whose hobbies currently include knitting, crochet, making journals, cooking, and quilting, although I have also been addicted to jewelry making, scrapbooking, sewing, and many others. My passion for creating runs a wide gamut and jumps back and forth from new hobbies to old often. I live with my hubby and our 3 pets: 1 grown puppy with the attention span of a goldfish, and 2 lazy chubby kitties. Kitties who, despite my best efforts to gain their enthusiasm, show no interest in what I'm working on except to lay on whatever it is occasionally. The hubby's reactions are better, which is why he gets many handmade items and the kitties only a few, but his reactions are usually confused smiles and nods with "thats great sweety!" The dog shows the most enthusiasm but mostly that translates into her trying to snot and eat whatever I am showing to her... I suppose thats just life tho :) Thanks for stopping in, feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in Art journal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Some backgrounds

  1. Pattie Kramer says:

    When I saw the one above the lizard pic I liked it but thought it needs some flowers. I love it!

  2. Wonderful, not just the arty parts, but your free writing! How fun πŸ™‚
    xoxo

Leave a Reply

