The 28th already?!

I can’t believe January is almost over already! This month flew by, at lightening speed. Creative Jump Start 2013 is almost over, but you can still sign up (its FREE!) and go back and watch all the videos if you want. I have LOVED seeing all the techniques and different creative approaches! Many of the products used have been things I already have on hand, so I could go try out the new technique right away. But some of the products were ones I wasn’t familiar with, and I wouldn’t have bought because I had no idea how to use them. A lot of times the product packaging isn’t very helpful in describing ways you can use that item, you’re just supposed to know I guess. Like embossing powders, I thought they were difficult to use and that they couldn’t be used in an art journal. I was SO wrong! A few different artists featured in the CJS 2013 used embossing inks and powders in their demonstrations, and it really showed how many ways it could be used, and with awesome results! So it is now another item on my “I really REALLY want” list, along with canvas tape, some sweet new stencils, spray inks, on and on and on πŸ™‚ The Fab Foils and bonding powder technique was also awesome! (vid #37) So much inspiration!

So here are some pages and tags I have been working on. Most with techniques from/or inspired by CJS 2013, and a few inspired by pages from “Journal It” by Jenny Doh. (Still loving that book a ton!)

fireworks and stamps stamps and gesso watercolors and marker numbers and letters Modeling paste tags Tag clocks and gears Collage and brown collage and doodles paper towel page playful whimsical town

Thanks so much for stopping by!!

About kittyisnotamused

I am an eclectic crafter whose hobbies currently include knitting, crochet, making journals, cooking, and quilting, although I have also been addicted to jewelry making, scrapbooking, sewing, and many others. My passion for creating runs a wide gamut and jumps back and forth from new hobbies to old often. I live with my hubby and our 3 pets: 1 grown puppy with the attention span of a goldfish, and 2 lazy chubby kitties. Kitties who, despite my best efforts to gain their enthusiasm, show no interest in what I'm working on except to lay on whatever it is occasionally. The hubby's reactions are better, which is why he gets many handmade items and the kitties only a few, but his reactions are usually confused smiles and nods with "thats great sweety!" The dog shows the most enthusiasm but mostly that translates into her trying to snot and eat whatever I am showing to her... I suppose thats just life tho :) Thanks for stopping in, feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in Art journal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The 28th already?!

  1. zakryc says:

    I really like the way the page with the indented gears looks, very cool.

  2. Beautiful! Love seeing how you used these techniques…I’m still getting thru the last of the videos, I kept getting distracted πŸ™‚ I’d stop and use a technique and then go from there, and forget that I’d have more videos to see the next few days, lol.
    You don’t have a “contact” button around here, so I’d love for you to drop me an email, I want to ask you if I can mail you a home-made Valentine, I went so crazy making them, I have lots to share…my hubby thinks I shouldn’t tell anyone that, haha.

    You get my FB or my email over on my blog so that I’m not posting it all over your blog here…

    xoxo Dana

    • Thanks so much! I’m glad I’m not the only one who got distracted while trying out a technique from one of the vids πŸ™‚ I would love to get one of your valentines, that’s so sweet of you to think of me! I will send you an email!

Leave a Reply

