Letting go

Since I have started art journaling, I have accumulated a stash of random papers and bits that I plan to someday use in a journal. A couple days ago I was going through the bin where I keep (most) of these random bits, when I came across a sheet of paper with a poem/quote printed on it. I have saved this paper for a long time, even before art journaling, because I really liked the sentiment and I didn’t want to forget it. When I came across it again the other day, I decided to put it on a journal page and get it out of the “stuff” before it got messed up. Actually how it has survived so well for this long I don’t even know, but I’m happy about it! So down went some paint and stamps, then some tags and the poem thingy, and after a few finishing touches I think it is just about done.

Art Journal012Art Journal014 DSC_1802

It says:

“Life is a process of letting go, letting go of conditions we can’t control, letting go of people — watching them move out of our lives, letting go of times, places, experiences.  Leaving behind anyone or anyplace we have loved may sadden us, but it also provides us opportunities for growth we hadn’t imagined.  These experiences push us beyond our former selves to deeper understandings of ourselves and of others.

So often those experiences that sadden us, that trigger pain, are the best lessons life is able to offer.  Experiencing the pain, surviving the pain that wrenches us emotionally, stretches us to new heights.  Life is enriched by the pain.  Our experiences with all other persons thereafter are deeper.  Instead of dreading the ending of a time, the departure of a loved one, we must try to appreciate what we have gained already, and know that life is fuller for it.”

I believe the quote is from this book “From Each Day a New Beginning: Daily Meditations for Women by Karen Casey © 1982, 1991 by Hazelden Foundation.” But I am not positive. This is the only source I could find of it online, the paper I had was printed a long time ago (check out that ’90’s’ style printer type) and has been floating around my house for years. So it finally found a home in my journal 🙂

About kittyisnotamused

I am an eclectic crafter whose hobbies currently include knitting, crochet, making journals, cooking, and quilting, although I have also been addicted to jewelry making, scrapbooking, sewing, and many others. My passion for creating runs a wide gamut and jumps back and forth from new hobbies to old often. I live with my hubby and our 3 pets: 1 grown puppy with the attention span of a goldfish, and 2 lazy chubby kitties. Kitties who, despite my best efforts to gain their enthusiasm, show no interest in what I'm working on except to lay on whatever it is occasionally. The hubby's reactions are better, which is why he gets many handmade items and the kitties only a few, but his reactions are usually confused smiles and nods with "thats great sweety!" The dog shows the most enthusiasm but mostly that translates into her trying to snot and eat whatever I am showing to her... I suppose thats just life tho :) Thanks for stopping in, feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in Art journal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Letting go

  1. zakryc says:

    That is a great quote/passage. And after a recent loss in my family that still stings a bit, it is very close to home for me as well.

  2. So lovely, the colors really highlight the sentiment. And I love that you dig around in your stash and get inspired 🙂
    xoxo

Leave a Reply

