New Stencils!

DSC_1894I have been having so much fun playing with the 2 new Crafter’s Workshop stencils I got on Fri!  Fish Scales and Harlequin, both 12×12.

DSC_1874DSC_1896DSC_1889DSC_1885DSC_1878  DSC_1873 DSC_1851 DSC_1854 DSC_1858

Using just watered down acrylics in spray bottles, paper, and the stencils, I was amused for hours 🙂

I used the stencils like normal, and flipped them over after spraying them to get the negative of the stencil, then used the reg side again to add more color to the negative, and visa-versa. SO MUCH FUN!

DSC_1856 DSC_1854

Stencil and stencil reverse plain.

DSC_1866 DSC_1870

Stencil used opposite way over each previous print to add silver.

All this playing has shown me how awesome stencils are (as if I didn’t already love them) and that I need more spray bottles so I can have a wider range of colors 🙂 I mostly used loose pages of super cheap watercolor paper that I happen to have a huge stack of (terrible idea to buy a big pack of “cheap” watercolor paper, you get exactly what you pay for and the paper sucks for water colors. On a good note tho, it is awesome for acrylic paint stencil prints, soaks up the watery paint beautifully!), and I only did a few prints in my art journal. I think I am going to cut up the loose pages to use on future journal pages; I have seen some great art journal pages lately, often incorporating circles and shapes cut from stenciled and painted papers. LOVE! Speaking of art journal pages, I started a new journal page, and nearly finished it in one sitting. Very unusual for me, I know 😛

Art Journal015

I’m thinking it needs a quote or song lyrics written in black, and then it should be done 🙂 I used both new stencils, the spray acrylics, gel medium, inks, and a piece torn from the scrap paper I have covering my desk. This page makes me super happy!

Thanks so much for taking the time to stop by!

About kittyisnotamused

I am an eclectic crafter whose hobbies currently include knitting, crochet, making journals, cooking, and quilting, although I have also been addicted to jewelry making, scrapbooking, sewing, and many others. My passion for creating runs a wide gamut and jumps back and forth from new hobbies to old often. I live with my hubby and our 3 pets: 1 grown puppy with the attention span of a goldfish, and 2 lazy chubby kitties. Kitties who, despite my best efforts to gain their enthusiasm, show no interest in what I'm working on except to lay on whatever it is occasionally. The hubby's reactions are better, which is why he gets many handmade items and the kitties only a few, but his reactions are usually confused smiles and nods with "thats great sweety!" The dog shows the most enthusiasm but mostly that translates into her trying to snot and eat whatever I am showing to her... I suppose thats just life tho :) Thanks for stopping in, feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in Art journal and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

