Gelli plate madness

My week+ long absence can be explained by the title of this post šŸ™‚

My super awesome Hubby got me a Gelli plate for Valentine’s day, and I have been going through paper and paint like crazy since then:) It is so much fun! There are a ton of how-to videos on youtube if you want to see how to use one, and there are videos and tips on the gelli plate website too. I have tried a few different types of papers such as plain printer paper, cheap watercolor, mixed media, manilla folder, and lined notebook pages. As expected the different papers definitely give you different results, as do different brands of paint. I have seen the cheaper acrylic craft paints recommended the most, and they do work well. I keep meaning to try out the golden heavy bodied acrylics I have, but I get distracted and forget, lol. But of the craft paints I own the Folk Art brand seem to give the best results for me. They are thicker and stay wet the longest, which is great for gelli printing! But any acrylic paint will work. I have even used some spray acrylics, although that got a bit messy, but still had cool results šŸ™‚ So, here are some of my favorite pages from the huge pile I have managed to amass in only a few days of playing ;P

Art Journal032 Art Journal033 Art Journal025 Art Journal027 Art Journal035 Art Journal018 Art Journal034 Art Journal029 Art Journal026 Art Journal019 Art Journal020 Art Journal022 Art Journal023

You don’t have to use just paper, you can print pretty much any flat surface. I made a few tags and added some bubble wrap print to a doily. You could also print envelopes, folders, book covers, pretty much anything with just a bit of trial and error.

Art Journal037

With the gelli plate you usually get 2 prints each time. The first one has the most paint because it is a direct print, and then the second one is the remaining paint or the leftover paint from under a stencil or mask. Both can look awesome, but the second one seems to be the most unpredictable and can have the coolest results! Like this one below, the first is the reg print (with the negative of a different stencil already on the paper) with a tree stencil on the gelli plate and bubble wrap pressed around the edges repeatedly. The second one is after the stencil has been taken off of the gelli plate. The second one is my absolute fave so far šŸ˜€

Art Journal016 Art Journal017

The last one below was done with white paint on the gelli plate, then watered down colored acrylics sprayed lightly over the whole plate. I put stencils on it and then took a print, but it was a watery mess. So without taking the stencils off, i took another print and this is the result. The previous page soaked up most of the water and left this behind! Happy!

Art Journal021

Many of these pages will become back grounds for journal pages, or be cut up to use as collage on journal pages. Some will become handmade envelopes and others might even be journal covers šŸ™‚ There are so many things you can do with these papers! You could print on manilla folders and then cut out your own tags from them, or make cards, wrapping paper, and/or gift tags for the holidays. So many ideas! And if you make a print that you don’t like (trust me, they wont all be winners, but that is perfectly ok :)) you can just paint over it, let it dry, and then print a new design! That is my favorite part about painting and art journaling, and now gelli printing! šŸ™‚

Thanks so much for stopping by! If you have been making gelli prints I would love to see them, feel free to leave a link in the comments!

About kittyisnotamused

I am an eclectic crafter whose hobbies currently include knitting, crochet, making journals, cooking, and quilting, although I have also been addicted to jewelry making, scrapbooking, sewing, and many others. My passion for creating runs a wide gamut and jumps back and forth from new hobbies to old often. I live with my hubby and our 3 pets: 1 grown puppy with the attention span of a goldfish, and 2 lazy chubby kitties. Kitties who, despite my best efforts to gain their enthusiasm, show no interest in what I'm working on except to lay on whatever it is occasionally. The hubby's reactions are better, which is why he gets many handmade items and the kitties only a few, but his reactions are usually confused smiles and nods with "thats great sweety!" The dog shows the most enthusiasm but mostly that translates into her trying to snot and eat whatever I am showing to her... I suppose thats just life tho :) Thanks for stopping in, feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in Art journal, gelli plate prints and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gelli plate madness

  1. magicinthewoods says:

    It’s definitely on my list of things to try one day.

Leave a Reply

