More gelli plate print love and some handmade stencils

I can tell I need to be careful or this will turn into a “nothing but gelli prints all the time” blog 🙂 But it’s just so much fun and so addicting to make gelli prints!

When making prints, stencils are (for me) a must.  I’ve used various “stuff” as masks and stencil-type items, with some cool results, but real stencils are by far my favorite thing to use for making prints (aside from bubble wrap. That stuff is AWESOME!!). And while browsing youtube videos on gelli printing the other day (clearly it is an addiction when you think about doing something when you are away from it, and need a fix 😛 ) I found a video by ‘sweetpaganrose’ on making your own stencils. And not just making your own stencils, but EASILY making your own stencils, for CHEAP! I was super excited! And I already had everything I needed to give it a try. LOVE when that happens!! For a heat resistant surface I used a flipped over cookie sheet because that’s what I had on hand. I did the rest just like in the video. And these are the stencils I have made so far:

DSC_1945DSC_1949DSC_1950

The web-like design is inspired by a doodling technique from the “Journal fodder 365” book, the hexagons was made because of how much I love hexagons right now, the arrow and squares just seemed like good stencil patterns, and the last one was inspired by pasta. Yep, I was making spaggetti for dinner, with penne noodles, and thought “that would make a good stencil!!” The hexagon and the web-like stencils are my favorites so far, in case you can’t tell from the following pics….lol

Art Journal046  Art Journal048   Art Journal051Art Journal047 Art Journal049Art Journal052 Art Journal053Art Journal050 Art Journal054 Art Journal055 Art Journal056 Art Journal057 Art Journal058 Art Journal059  Art Journal061Art Journal060 Art Journal062 Art Journal063  Art Journal065Art Journal064 Art Journal066 Art Journal067 Art Journal068 Art Journal069 Art Journal070 Art Journal073Art Journal072Art Journal071  Art Journal039  Art Journal038 Art Journal040 Art Journal041 Art Journal042 Art Journal043 Art Journal044 Art Journal045

As you can tell, I am loving my gelli plate! Now I just need to use all of the prints I have made…. 😛

Thanks so much for stopping by!

About kittyisnotamused

I am an eclectic crafter whose hobbies currently include knitting, crochet, making journals, cooking, and quilting, although I have also been addicted to jewelry making, scrapbooking, sewing, and many others. My passion for creating runs a wide gamut and jumps back and forth from new hobbies to old often. I live with my hubby and our 3 pets: 1 grown puppy with the attention span of a goldfish, and 2 lazy chubby kitties. Kitties who, despite my best efforts to gain their enthusiasm, show no interest in what I'm working on except to lay on whatever it is occasionally. The hubby's reactions are better, which is why he gets many handmade items and the kitties only a few, but his reactions are usually confused smiles and nods with "thats great sweety!" The dog shows the most enthusiasm but mostly that translates into her trying to snot and eat whatever I am showing to her... I suppose thats just life tho :) Thanks for stopping in, feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in Art journal, gelli plate prints and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to More gelli plate print love and some handmade stencils

  1. Happy day to you too 🙂 Wow! I’m loving your gelli plate prints too, great work.
    Big love AJ

  2. Rhonda H says:

    Love your prints! Great colors!
    And oh duh, in the “why didn’t I think of that?” department — I also wanted to make my own stencils and saw the sweetpaganrose video and have been searching for a piece of glass — and you used the back of a baking sheet and my hand went to forehead! Of course! Can’t wait to try some of my own stencils out now thanks for the idea and push!

    • Glad I can help you get started sooner on the addiction that is making your own stencils 🙂 I would love to see what make! Thanks so much for your kind words and for stopping by!!

  3. Kathy Gledsdale says:

    Wow I extra love that Webby on, how stunning it that!

  4. Kay says:

    Thanks for sharing the link for the video on making stencils. I have bought some, but again, with the cost, I can’t get as many as I’d like. Will have to try making some. Also ordered the gelli plates, so need to try it out. Thanks for the inspiration.

    • I have found that I like the hand cut stencils even better than the store bought ones. And when you can cut them yourself the possibilities are endless for things that can be made into stencils that YOU like! The gelli plate is so much fun and So addicting! Once you start playing around with it, it will be hard to tear yourself away 🙂 Thanks so much for stopping by!

  5. kimmer says:

    I have made quite a few of my own stencils, too! I don’t know if I’m more addicted to my gelli plate, or making stencils! lol I love your webbed one! I think I may have to steal that idea! 😉

    • Hahaha I know, it would definitely be hard to pick just one favorite between the two 🙂 They are both so much fun! And if you do decide to make a web stencil, I recommend leaving a border around the edge. Otherwise the loose ends can get bent and wonky. Thanks so much for stopping by!!

  6. Was the webby stencil from your own drawing? I have looked everywhere and can’t find it on any of the free stencil downloads and it is so beautiful!

    • Hi Kathy! It is one I drew myself, inspired by a technique in the journal fodder 365 book. It’s just free handed lines and oval-ish shapes, and where the lines met I rounded out the joint and filled them in so that there weren’t harsh corners, if that makes sense. If you do decide to make one, I definitely recommend leaving a border around the edge, otherwise the loose pieces can get bent and twisted. Thanks so much for stopping by, hope this helps!

  7. Pingback: Butterflies and hexagons | Kitty is Not Amused...

  8. I just watched your video on making the stencils and it was great. I can’t wait to make them and use them on my gelli plate.

    • I have had so much fun with making my own stencils and using them on my gelli plate (‘sweetpagenrose’ made the wonderful tutorial video, I only shared it on my blog), they are both so addicting! I hope you have fun with them, and thanks for stopping by!

  9. Thank you for this amazing video link. I really love the stencils you have made yourself, especially the organic one with holes. Did you make that by using the heat tool and stretching the plastic?

    • I did use the heat tool, but didn’t stretch the plastic, I think that would warp it and I’m not sure it would lay flat after that. I just drew out the design, inspired by a technique I saw in the “journal fodder junkies 365” book, and on the journal fodder junkies blog like in this post, and I put it under my plastic divider and cut it out with the heat tool. I definitely should have left a border around it, as the loose pieces can get twisted and bent, but now I know for in the future 🙂 Thanks so much for stopping by, take care! ~Sena

  10. magicinthewoods says:

    I just bought the stencil cutter last week! How much fun is that! Everywhere I look now I see patterns I want to cut out. I “borrowed” the glass from a picture frame. That saves me time from copying my drawing on the plastic. I love your hexagon print, that would be great for a bee theme…

    • That’s awesome! I do that too 🙂 I now have 3 sizes of hexagon stencils, I am just a little obsessed with hexagons lol. I even saved the cut out pieces to use in collage and as masks. Can’t get enough of them! I don’t copy my pattern onto the plastic, I just put the plastic over the paper pattern. I am too impatient to take the time to redraw it! Can’t wait to see what stencils you come up with!!

  11. misscarolyn says:

    Love the home made stencils. I’ve seen that video before and made a few of my own stencils that I just adore. Your prints turned out great. Have you found a fun use for them yet?

    • Hi Miss Carolyn! I have put some of my (huge and ever growing stash) of gelli prints to use as cards, handmade envelopes, and as backgrounds for drawings. They are a lot of fun to use! Thanks for stopping by!

  12. beverlydyer says:

    Really cool stuff going on here!!

  13. Jodie says:

    When you figure out what you’re doing with your prints let us k kw , I also have tons and am still trying to come up with what to do with all of them.

Leave a Reply

