Attention Artists!

I tried to get on here and post yesterday but I had the worst time getting any wordpress pages to load! Also couldn’t view any tumblr blogs, and even pinterest was only partially loading pictures. Did anyone else have that? So it was a pretty productive day around here as far as house work goes lol. But I really wanted to let you guys know that Dawn DeVries Sokol is looking for artists to contribute to a new book she is working on! You can find out the details here.

This last week has been a bit of a break for me as far as any art goes, my brother came down to visit me and my Hubby, and we had a great time hanging out! Even went to the beach, although it was too cold to really stay and play. My bro just wanted to take his Tahoe out and four-wheel on the beach anyway πŸ™‚ So after a break and a fun visit, yesterday had some arty-ness happening! (as well as cleaning, in between letting layers dry πŸ™‚ )

I bought this little journal for super cheap the other day, because I loved the size and the dotted inside pages! And you can’t beat $1.18 for a great little journal. I forgot to take “before” pictures, but here is the “after”:

DSC_2117DSC_2113DSC_2111

I LOVE the little grey dotted lines! LOVE! The journal measures 8″x 6″ and has a beautiful teal stripe pattern on the inside covers. The outside was originally a light grey with some retro looking flowers in it. Not bad, but not my style. So i gesso’d it, painted it dark grey, and finger painted with some golden heavy bodied acrylics, and some liquitex basic acrylics. Then I added some pretty teal packaging tape down the spine to reenforce it and add a pop of color! So happy with it!

I had some leftover pink and red from the journal, so I pulled out some loose journal pages and painted some flowers.DSC_2090 Our eyes Quite happy with them! Unfortunately, as much as I love the flowers in the top picture, I totally painted them on upside down. :/ I wasn’t paying attention to which way the pages opened, and when the flowers were dry and I flipped through the signature, I realized my mistake. And I can’t just flip that page of the signature because the other side of the page has lettering on it. But oh well, it happens πŸ™‚ When these pages are bound together someday, there will be a page with upside down flowers. And I will see it and laugh, cause we all have those days! The bottom flower pages has a quote I saw on pinterest that has stuck with me. I thought it was perfect for this page, and I kept the overall page simple, letting the flowers and the quote take focus.

I hope you are having a great day wherever you are! Thanks for stopping by!

About kittyisnotamused

I am an eclectic crafter whose hobbies currently include knitting, crochet, making journals, cooking, and quilting, although I have also been addicted to jewelry making, scrapbooking, sewing, and many others. My passion for creating runs a wide gamut and jumps back and forth from new hobbies to old often. I live with my hubby and our 3 pets: 1 grown puppy with the attention span of a goldfish, and 2 lazy chubby kitties. Kitties who, despite my best efforts to gain their enthusiasm, show no interest in what I'm working on except to lay on whatever it is occasionally. The hubby's reactions are better, which is why he gets many handmade items and the kitties only a few, but his reactions are usually confused smiles and nods with "thats great sweety!" The dog shows the most enthusiasm but mostly that translates into her trying to snot and eat whatever I am showing to her... I suppose thats just life tho :) Thanks for stopping in, feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in Art journal, crafting, Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

