Some finished pages

I went back to my original art journal the other day and worked on a couple different pages in it. Two of them areΒ  on backgrounds that were already started, and it was nice to have that starting place for them, instead of having to start from scratch. The last one started as an experiment when I wanted to use masking tape for a textured background. Absolutely love how it turned out!!

DSC_2227

I have never used vintage photos on my pages before, but a wonderful bloggy friend set me some cool vintage photos and ephemera when we exchanged valentines in feb (thanks again Dana!!) πŸ™‚ With the photograph being black and white, I wanted the other elements of the page to be colorful but not too much so. I toned down the background with some gesso, dropped some water on it, dried the gesso, and blotted off the water, so the colors can show through but aren’t over powering. Then I arranged paper bits and pieces until I was happy with the look. Added the stitched music note to the photo, (next time I will definitely adhere the photo to card stock first to add strength to the picture) and some washi tape and called it done(ish)! I think it might need a little something more, but as of right now I haven’t decided what that would be.

Broken piecesΒ  DSC_2211DSC_2213

This spread was originally started to test out some new paints and just play, and I loved the way the colors came together. I wrote out my journaling on some gelli printed paper, then tore it up. I drew a rough heart outline and glued the pieces into it, then outlined it with black sharpie and a paint pen. I added some punched out stars and a few other paper bits and pieces, then wrote a quote I saw on pinterest that I really identify with. I used some stickers and acrylic bubble letters for some of the words, and wrote the rest by hand. (me and the bubble letters did not get along, they kept wanting to peel up at the corners and not stick flat to the paper. The layers of gel medium I put over them to hold them in place didn’t quite fix that the way I had hoped but I don’t think the letters will be coming off anytime soon)

DSC_2209 DSC_2214 DSC_2200 DSC_2204 DSC_2203 DSC_2210

For the background on this spread, I covered the pages with randomly placed masking tape, then smooshed gelatos all over it. I mixed them together with a wet brush, then let it dry. I cut out a city skyline from drywall tape, as well as some circles. I glued the circles down then outlined the smaller two with turquoise dimensional fabric paint from tulip. I painted the bigger circle two different shades of yellow, and outlined it with black india ink. I also added some random ink splotches. I adhered the city skyline and painted it black then outlined it with white gel pen. After that dried I added some highlight colors in orange, red, blue, green, and purple, which doesn’t show up well in the photos. I can’t decided what I want it to say, but right now it is just making me happy the way it is πŸ™‚

Thank so much for stopping by!

About kittyisnotamused

I am an eclectic crafter whose hobbies currently include knitting, crochet, making journals, cooking, and quilting, although I have also been addicted to jewelry making, scrapbooking, sewing, and many others. My passion for creating runs a wide gamut and jumps back and forth from new hobbies to old often. I live with my hubby and our 3 pets: 1 grown puppy with the attention span of a goldfish, and 2 lazy chubby kitties. Kitties who, despite my best efforts to gain their enthusiasm, show no interest in what I'm working on except to lay on whatever it is occasionally. The hubby's reactions are better, which is why he gets many handmade items and the kitties only a few, but his reactions are usually confused smiles and nods with "thats great sweety!" The dog shows the most enthusiasm but mostly that translates into her trying to snot and eat whatever I am showing to her... I suppose thats just life tho :) Thanks for stopping in, feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in Art journal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Some finished pages

  1. zakryc says:

    The city skyline reminds me of Legos…I sure do miss playing with them.

Leave a Reply

