New desk/junque journal

I have had a fun and busy weekend, with all kinds of art-ing goodness πŸ™‚

DSC_2245

I was super inspired by journal artista’s video about her desk/leftover journal, and I had to make one for myself!! I went through my box of “stuff”(old calenders, leaflets, pamphlets, maps, users manual in other languages, ect) and pulled out anything I thought would work. Then I gathered up a variety of plain, lined, grid, scrapbook, and gelli printed papers for the rest of the signatures. I have to say, it was a lot of fun putting together all the different papers. I didn’t worry about which ones were together, just folded and layered them until I was happy with them. Many of them have flaps that fold out, I can’t even tell you how ridiculously happy that makes me πŸ™‚ No idea why, but it does. I used thick chipboard for the spine, since the spine supports the weight of the signatures, and lighter chip board for the covers, connecting them with trusty duct tape. I made the spine wider than I normally would have, to be able to add more signatures if I want, and to allow room for the pages to expand as they get painted, printed, stenciled, and inked. It was about this time that I grabbed our stash of rubber bands only to realize we had about 4. That was kind of a problem, since the rubber bands are what hold the signatures into the book and allow you to take them out and move them around. So I cut some ribbon to use instead until I remember to get some rubber bands next time I go to the store. The ribbon does not hold the signatures into the book as well as the rubber bands do, but it does work well enough for now. The desk/junque journal was already put to use this week when I was doing some stamping in a cute little mini book I made recently (more on that next time πŸ˜‰ ) and when I was doing some painting yesterday. I love it! Its a great way to use up lots of papers and junk mail!

DSC_2206 DSC_2217 DSC_2245 DSC_2214 DSC_2209 I can’t wait until the pages are covered with painty inky goodness!

Thanks so much for stopping by!!

About kittyisnotamused

I am an eclectic crafter whose hobbies currently include knitting, crochet, making journals, cooking, and quilting, although I have also been addicted to jewelry making, scrapbooking, sewing, and many others. My passion for creating runs a wide gamut and jumps back and forth from new hobbies to old often. I live with my hubby and our 3 pets: 1 grown puppy with the attention span of a goldfish, and 2 lazy chubby kitties. Kitties who, despite my best efforts to gain their enthusiasm, show no interest in what I'm working on except to lay on whatever it is occasionally. The hubby's reactions are better, which is why he gets many handmade items and the kitties only a few, but his reactions are usually confused smiles and nods with "thats great sweety!" The dog shows the most enthusiasm but mostly that translates into her trying to snot and eat whatever I am showing to her... I suppose thats just life tho :) Thanks for stopping in, feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in Art journal, crafting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to New desk/junque journal

  1. I just love making books and that one looks pretty awesome. I had actually never heard of using rubber bands or ribbon to hold the signatures in. I’ve usually sewn the signatures in which I like the feel of but your method has the advantage of being able to remove the signature or separate page to work on and then replace it. Hope you’ll post pictures as you add your paint and such–looking forward to seeing that!

    • Hey Artsy! I have always sewn in signatures before too, until I saw journalartista’s video I would never have thought about using rubber bands. But I love that I can change the signatures around or take them out or add new ones! I still need to get more rubber bands tho πŸ™‚

  2. Casey Nelson says:

    That is an incredible junque journal, beautifully made. Can’t wait to see all of the creations you add to it….peace, xoxo.

  3. Katerina says:

    What a great idea to use all the junk paper to make a journal! I love the way yours looks! I was just about to clear the clutter here and I know now what I’ll do with most of the ad-letters and junk mail I have. Thanks for posting this idea!
    I have been using rubber bands for my travel journals… I don’t like empty pages in the end of a travel journal and rubber bands make it possible to remove the unused pages when my trip is over. But for this kind of book it is also a great idea to use!
    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

