Stamping, a mini book, and tags

I was feeling a bit stuck after I finished my junque journal last weekend. (This was before my hobby lobby discovery and purchase of dylusions spray inks :D)I couldn’t decide what I felt like doing artistically, so I pulled out my stamps and ink pads, and set out to play. I had a pile of tags, my journal of gelli prints, some masking tape, and a cute little mini book I made the other day. It was a recipe for a lot of fun!

Here are some of my favorite tags:DSC_2250

And the mini book I made: the cover is heavy watercolor paper, stenciled and painted during a gelli print session, with some colored molding paste on top.DSC_2254DSC_2274 DSC_2257DSC_2258DSC_2260DSC_2264DSC_2265DSC_2266DSC_2268DSC_2269DSC_2270DSC_2272 Β  I used random stamps on each set of pages, and StayzOn ink throughout so that I don’t have to worry about what medium I want to use on top of the ink later. I’m not sure what I’m going to use this little book for, but I love how it looks and how the cover feels with the modeling paste!

Art Journal143 This is a page from my gelli print notebook that I added some stamped masking tape to, and then more stamps to the page itself.

It was so much fun to sit down without a plan and just play. And now I have a pile of cute tags on hand, some journal pages ready to go, and a little mini book ready for notes or doodles whenever I feel the need πŸ™‚ If you are feeling stuck, I really recommend pulling out one main supply and just playing with colors on different surfaces!

Thanks so much for stopping by!!

About kittyisnotamused

I am an eclectic crafter whose hobbies currently include knitting, crochet, making journals, cooking, and quilting, although I have also been addicted to jewelry making, scrapbooking, sewing, and many others. My passion for creating runs a wide gamut and jumps back and forth from new hobbies to old often. I live with my hubby and our 3 pets: 1 grown puppy with the attention span of a goldfish, and 2 lazy chubby kitties. Kitties who, despite my best efforts to gain their enthusiasm, show no interest in what I'm working on except to lay on whatever it is occasionally. The hubby's reactions are better, which is why he gets many handmade items and the kitties only a few, but his reactions are usually confused smiles and nods with "thats great sweety!" The dog shows the most enthusiasm but mostly that translates into her trying to snot and eat whatever I am showing to her... I suppose thats just life tho :) Thanks for stopping in, feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in Art journal, gelli plate prints and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Stamping, a mini book, and tags

  1. Junquemail Contessa (Casey Nelson) says:

    Yay for Play! When I feel stuck, I reorganize my art studio….I find I have been doing that a lot lately.

  2. I often turn to making tags when I don’t have inspiration for a page! It is a nice outlet without the “pressure” of a full page. πŸ™‚

    • I have made a bunch of tags, and I love them, but I rarely find uses for them on my journal pages 😦 I have seen others make cool pages including their tags, but I never like the way mine look on my pages. So I am getting a rather large stack that needs to find some usage πŸ™‚ Might be time to just stick them on a page and go with it!

Leave a Reply

