Some new journal pages ♥

I’ve been working on some journal pages recently and even finished a few. Pretty rare for me 🙂

The first 2 pages were a test run for a new-to-me technique, using a white crayon as a resist to watered down acrylic paint. On the left side I used very watered down paint, and on the right side the paint was less diluted. The paint came off of the wax crayon a lot easier on the left than it did on the right. In fact I disliked the way the right side had turned out so much that it has since been covered up with gelli print collage 😀 But it was a fun technique to try and I had a good time experimenting and playing around.

DSC_2281 DSC_2275 DSC_2276

The next spread I painted over a bright background with turquoise, then dripped some water on it, let the paint dry, and then blotted up the water to reveal the colors underneath (probably my most favorite technique from Creative Jump Start 2013 from Nathalie Kalbach! I use it all the time!!). I used a page from a book to write on about my love for spring, and then I layered it with some papers, flower and butterfly die cuts, and washi tapes. I added a few stamps and rubs-ons, then I used two stencils to add some black to the pages and tie them together. Love how this one turned out 🙂

DSC_2341 DSC_2350 DSC_2347

This page started out as a place to use up some of the paint I had leftover from a canvas my hubby and I worked on together a while back, and I loved how the colors worked together. I took some painted papers and punched out a butterfly and added a punched border. I also cut out some circles and tore a few strips of the painted paper, and added them all to the page. I added washi tapes and a cloud stamp, then I decided that the stamp was too “in your face” so I toned it down with a bit of gesso. I used one of the circles for a journaling spot and wrote out a quote from Haruki Murakami about “once the storm is over”. I really love this quote, it is one of my all time favorites! I outlined the circles with a micron pen and called it done. I love how this page came together slowly over time, but it feels like that’s how it needed to be. Very happy with it 🙂

DSC_2355 DSC_2367 DSC_2358 DSC_2360 DSC_2361 DSC_2364

Thanks so much for stopping by!

About kittyisnotamused

I am an eclectic crafter whose hobbies currently include knitting, crochet, making journals, cooking, and quilting, although I have also been addicted to jewelry making, scrapbooking, sewing, and many others. My passion for creating runs a wide gamut and jumps back and forth from new hobbies to old often. I live with my hubby and our 3 pets: 1 grown puppy with the attention span of a goldfish, and 2 lazy chubby kitties. Kitties who, despite my best efforts to gain their enthusiasm, show no interest in what I'm working on except to lay on whatever it is occasionally. The hubby's reactions are better, which is why he gets many handmade items and the kitties only a few, but his reactions are usually confused smiles and nods with "thats great sweety!" The dog shows the most enthusiasm but mostly that translates into her trying to snot and eat whatever I am showing to her... I suppose thats just life tho :) Thanks for stopping in, feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in Art journal and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Some new journal pages ♥

  1. You know – I have some lingering “got way too wild” pages in my art journal that need some calming down. That second technique sounds like it may work! I’ll have to give that a try…

    • It is definitely a fun technique! A heat gun or hair dryer speeds up the drying process, just make sure you don’t dry the water spots 🙂 Would love to see how it works out for you!

  2. Pingback: Some new finished pages and some pages in progress | Kitty is Not Amused...

Leave a Reply

