faces, faces everywhere!

I recently took a drawing class by the absolutely wonderful Jane Davenport called “draw happy” and I am loving it! It’s a “mini” class compared to her others, but it has videos and tutorials, and it has been a blast to take part of! I really REALLY want to take her next 2 classes (“Supplies me” and “I β™₯ drawing”) as well, but I will need to save up some $$$ first. πŸ™‚ I have seen so many great artists (Julie Fei-Fan Balzer and Samantha Kira HardingΒ aka Journal girl, are just a couple of artists who draw amazing faces in their work) drawing fun and expressive faces and I wanted to give it a try, but I never liked what I made. This class was a fun way to get some starting points and direction, which has made drawing faces fun and doable for me! I have been on a bit of a face drawing binge since I started the class, and it is addicting but wonderful πŸ™‚ (If you are a follower on my art journal inspiration pinterest board you may have noticed the “how to draw hair” pins popping up on it recently, as well as other awesome art journal pin-spiration) Β Many evenings have found me sitting on the couch with my hubby, drawing faces while he watches tv or plays a video game. I’ve been having a fun time with different hair styles on my faces as well, and who knows, I might even branch out and give them bodies eventually πŸ˜€ But for now, here are some of the faces I have been working on: starting with the first ones I did, to the most recent ones at the bottom.

DSC_2516 DSC_2526 DSC_2524 DSC_2527 DSC_2522DSC_2530DSC_0046DSC_0047DSC_0049DSC_0044DSC_2545DSC_0052DSC_0054DSC_0056DSC_0065DSC_0071DSC_0072DSC_0061DSC_0063DSC_0074DSC_0076DSC_0066DSC_0089

A couple of things I have discovered; (1.) drawing with colored pencils over colored pencils is a pain in the butt because you can’t erase them and you can’t cover them up with other colors very well. Jane painted circles and let them dry then drew her faces over the paint, which is much better way to do it, but I’m lazy and didn’t want to wait. So I can’t blame anyone but myself for the funky faces In the top half of the pics. (2.) I seriously need to get a new/better pencil sharpener. (3.) I now want to put faces on every art journal page I have been working on! I have also been seeing people on tv shows and thinking about how to draw their hair and noticing the shape of their lips or eyes and then trying to recreate it on one of my faces. It’s getting a bit out of hand πŸ˜› But like I said, it’s addicting but awesome!!

Thanks so much for stopping by!!

About kittyisnotamused

I am an eclectic crafter whose hobbies currently include knitting, crochet, making journals, cooking, and quilting, although I have also been addicted to jewelry making, scrapbooking, sewing, and many others. My passion for creating runs a wide gamut and jumps back and forth from new hobbies to old often. I live with my hubby and our 3 pets: 1 grown puppy with the attention span of a goldfish, and 2 lazy chubby kitties. Kitties who, despite my best efforts to gain their enthusiasm, show no interest in what I'm working on except to lay on whatever it is occasionally. The hubby's reactions are better, which is why he gets many handmade items and the kitties only a few, but his reactions are usually confused smiles and nods with "thats great sweety!" The dog shows the most enthusiasm but mostly that translates into her trying to snot and eat whatever I am showing to her... I suppose thats just life tho :) Thanks for stopping in, feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in Art journal, Doodles and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to faces, faces everywhere!

  1. That is a lot of faces!! Are you keeping count? I’ve never liked colored pencils much but they do allow for a lot of control. I know exactly what you mean about drawing faces–when I was taking a drawing class i found myself staring at people mentally drawing their faces!

    • Hi Artsy! I only kept track of the first few I drew, after that I forgot all about it πŸ™‚ I tried a few different pens, but I don’t like the results I get with pen vs colored pencils. As long as I don’t make the face shape and fill it in with colored pencils first, I have a much easier time filling in things like the hair and eyes. I have started to use a regular pencil to make the head shape first, and then use colored pencils to add the details, and that has helped me a lot too. Then I can erase the regular pencil and not worry about it messing up the colored lines. Definitely still doing the whole trial and error thing πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

