Some new finished pages and some pages in progress

I have been working on/finishing up a lot of different pages recently, inspired both by pinterest and by the various art journal blogs I read.  Some of these pages were trials for new techniques, and others were pages that came together around a specific item or product that I wanted to use. There has been a lot of “just go with it and see what happens” and it has led to some fun and unexpected pages 🙂

DSC_0106 DSC_0118I used my “cover it up because I hate it” technique one this spread, and then used some gesso through my hexagon stencil and added the words and tags. I kept it pretty simple but love the resulting page! DSC_0115 DSC_0061 DSC_0075This is the spread from this post, but with the right side covered up because I didn’t like how it had turned out. I’m really happy with it now, the layers of gelli prints and the random doodles with some paint pens were fun. DSC_0069 DSC_0071 DSC_0087This page has been covered up a few time with different layers. I finally got it to were I like it now, but it definitely took a while! 🙂DSC_0104

I am loving this page the most out of all the pages I have worked on lately! The colors, the hexagons, the book page flower, the packaging tape transfer 🙂 Happy happy!! I will probably not even try to add words to this one, I’m loving it as is.

And a few backgrounds that I finished recently, just waiting for some journaling on them:

DSC_0041 DSC_0044 DSC_0046I used some gelli printed rice paper for the background, added some stamps and washi tapes, and some tags I sprayed with my dylusions spray inks. It’s a busy page, but all the colors and textures make me smile 🙂 Plus I found someplace to use some of the many tags I seem to be stockpiling….. I don’t even know where I would add journaling on this one, so it may stay plain. But that’s fine with me 🙂DSC_0047 DSC_0049I tried to do a gell medium image transfer after watching Donna Downey’s latest Inspiration Wednesday video, but I definitely need more practice. I do love how it adds more layers and interest, even if it didn’t turn out the way I was hoping. DSC_0083This was a spread I made using the dylusions spray inks, I just went color happy and covered the whole thing 🙂 Then I added some stamps with StazOn ink, and now I have no idea where to go with it from here. It makes me happy every time I see it tho, so it isn’t a bad place to be stuck at. I love all the happy colors! DSC_0108This page was an experiment using crackle medium. I do like how it turned out and I can’t wait to use it on some more pages in the future! I definitely used too much tho and it took forever to dry :/ I hate waiting so that was a major bummer. But I learned my lesson for next time (I hope lol) DSC_0113 DSC_0109 DSC_0111I made this collage because I just wanted to use some of my many scraps of paper, and then I added some dylusions sprayed drywall tape. I don’t usually make collages, but I love this one! No idea what to do with it now, but it is ready for whenever I figure it out!

Thanks so much for stopping by!!

About kittyisnotamused

I am an eclectic crafter whose hobbies currently include knitting, crochet, making journals, cooking, and quilting, although I have also been addicted to jewelry making, scrapbooking, sewing, and many others. My passion for creating runs a wide gamut and jumps back and forth from new hobbies to old often. I live with my hubby and our 3 pets: 1 grown puppy with the attention span of a goldfish, and 2 lazy chubby kitties. Kitties who, despite my best efforts to gain their enthusiasm, show no interest in what I'm working on except to lay on whatever it is occasionally. The hubby's reactions are better, which is why he gets many handmade items and the kitties only a few, but his reactions are usually confused smiles and nods with "thats great sweety!" The dog shows the most enthusiasm but mostly that translates into her trying to snot and eat whatever I am showing to her... I suppose thats just life tho :) Thanks for stopping in, feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in Art journal, gelli plate prints and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Some new finished pages and some pages in progress

  1. I love the text flower! SO yummy. And the crackle stuff… might have to give it a go. The slap something over what you hate has my gears turning. I have a few of those pages in my book right now that could you some covering up.

    • I have heard people say you should keep the pages you don’t like to look back on and see how you’ve grown as an artist, but I would rather have a shelf of journals that I love rather than a bunch I don’t look at because I don’t like the pages in them. That’s just me tho 🙂

  2. ukmaryanne says:

    I love your free-wheelin’ style 🙂 So glad I subscribed….

    Mary Anne

  3. ehueston says:

    These are beautiful… I love the first one but they are all amazing!

Leave a Reply

