Now back to your (semi) regularly scheduled program…

It feels like it’s been forever since I last posted, but I can see it has really only been about a week. Being sick will do that to you. I started feeling bad last Friday evening, and the ensuing cold(?) kicked my butt; had a fever, felt like a zombie (minus the urge to eat brains, cause I didn’t feel like eating anything), and just generally felt achy and awful. Being stuck in bed is not fun ๐Ÿ˜ฆ But I am on the mend and feeling human-ish again! Yay! Now I have the problem of wanting to do a bunch of creative fun stuff, but lacking the energy to actually do much of anything :/ ย  Even just sweeping the floor wipes me out at the moment. So since I don’t have any creativeness to show you, here are some pics of a little abandoned house we stopped to check out on the way back from the beach a couple of weeks ago!!

An open invitationThe shed and the porchLeft of the porchPorch windowWindows on the insideThe insideA little bit organizedGlass bottles from behind the glassTo the garageFlower by the porch stepsBit of a draftFront cornerFront sideGlass bottles behind the glassThe garage 2The garageI hadn’t realized the front part of the house had been an addition until I got up to the front door, although in the second picture down you can see where it was added if you look to the upper left of the porch roof. Seeing the window and wooden siding inside was a surprise. Also the beams in the additions’ ceiling looked new, which was a bit odd as well considering how the outside of the addition looks. Before the addition it looks to have been a really small house with a shed attached to the side. I’m guessing the garage was probably built the same time as the addition.

I didn’t go into the house for a variety of reasons: mostly that I didn’t know how good the floor was, and I didn’t want to run into anyone who might be taking advantage of the “cheap” rent during NC’s lovely summer weather. Plus, while I didn’t see any “no trespassing” signs, that doesn’t mean that there weren’t any. I tend to have tunnel vision at times ๐Ÿ™‚ (I had to scroll back through my pics and check after typing that, because I really wasn’t paying any attention when I took them. Still didn’t see any signs tho ๐Ÿ˜› ) I drove past this place when the bushes out front were in bloom and I wish I had stopped to get some pics then because it was so pretty. But the grass hadn’t been mowed then and I’m not much of one to brave snakes and things for pictures. This is also why the pics of the garage are taken from the road, no one mowed a path to to get closer ๐Ÿ™‚ And I’m just not that brave. Especially in shorts and flip flops. The day we drove by on the way to the beach, the grass had been nicely mowed and ย the little place was much more inviting to stop at on the way home ๐Ÿ™‚

I’m not sure who owned it or why they left it the way they did.ย It is/was a cute little house, and close to the beach, so it could have been sold and kept from falling apart the way it is. As it is now, I’m sure before too long it will be torn down to make way for new townhouses or duplexes, which seem to be springing up around here at an alarming rate :/ Townhouses and duplexes lack the appeal of cute little houses with character, whether new or old, by far.

Thanks so much for stopping by!!

About kittyisnotamused

I am an eclectic crafter whose hobbies currently include knitting, crochet, making journals, cooking, and quilting, although I have also been addicted to jewelry making, scrapbooking, sewing, and many others. My passion for creating runs a wide gamut and jumps back and forth from new hobbies to old often. I live with my hubby and our 3 pets: 1 grown puppy with the attention span of a goldfish, and 2 lazy chubby kitties. Kitties who, despite my best efforts to gain their enthusiasm, show no interest in what I'm working on except to lay on whatever it is occasionally. The hubby's reactions are better, which is why he gets many handmade items and the kitties only a few, but his reactions are usually confused smiles and nods with "thats great sweety!" The dog shows the most enthusiasm but mostly that translates into her trying to snot and eat whatever I am showing to her... I suppose thats just life tho :) Thanks for stopping in, feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in Old house love and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Now back to your (semi) regularly scheduled program…

  1. You are from NC? Me too!!! I mean, I live in Colorado now, but I’m from NC originally.

Leave a Reply

