Onward!

It has been a while dear bloggy friends. Almost the whole month of June and I did not get along this year, but so far July has been much better! So onward to the creativity that has been taking place around here during the “post June” recovery, lol.

I recently signed up for another class from the wonderful and inspiring Jane Davenport, and I am having so much fun with it! I made a quick little sketch book for the colored pencil drawing lessons, and because who doesn’t need another sketch book on hand? πŸ˜›

Sketch journal front Sketch journal

I used some leftover signatures from a previous project I had laying around, and cut up the heavy watercolor paper I had been using as a cleaning place for my brayer and stencils, for the cover. Love how simple it was to make, and now I have a new sketch book for drawing faces! Yay!

I started a journal page when I was feeling better, and I kept thinking of how even tho I had been sick most of June, it wasn’t something permanent and I should be grateful to be on the mend. The lyrics from Paul Westerburg’s song “a good day” kept coming to mind so I put them on the page. The background was very busy, so I kept the embellishments simple, just manilla and foil butterfly punch outs and a tag. I hand stitched a heart onto the tag before gluing it to the page and added a few stitch-like marks with a micron pen.

Good Day“A good day, is any day that you’re alive.”

And a couple of backgrounds I don’t think I have shown on the blog before (if I have, please forgive me. I’m still getting back into the groove of things πŸ™‚ ):

Scolls DSC_0053 Flower and texture gelli print and book text

The bottom two have gelli print bases with a few embellishments. I love how much depth the gelli print can give a page! And I am still loving drawing on book pages,Β  then painting or coloring them and cutting them out to use in my journal! β™₯

Thanks so much for stopping by!! I hope all is well with you!

About kittyisnotamused

I am an eclectic crafter whose hobbies currently include knitting, crochet, making journals, cooking, and quilting, although I have also been addicted to jewelry making, scrapbooking, sewing, and many others. My passion for creating runs a wide gamut and jumps back and forth from new hobbies to old often. I live with my hubby and our 3 pets: 1 grown puppy with the attention span of a goldfish, and 2 lazy chubby kitties. Kitties who, despite my best efforts to gain their enthusiasm, show no interest in what I'm working on except to lay on whatever it is occasionally. The hubby's reactions are better, which is why he gets many handmade items and the kitties only a few, but his reactions are usually confused smiles and nods with "thats great sweety!" The dog shows the most enthusiasm but mostly that translates into her trying to snot and eat whatever I am showing to her... I suppose thats just life tho :) Thanks for stopping in, feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in Art journal, gelli plate prints and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Onward!

  1. ukmaryanne says:

    I love all you do πŸ™‚ I am also a fan of using up mop-up sheets as a base for future art but somehow yours seem more “designed” than mine often do! I especially love the funky squares. Must seek out that stencil, I think.

    Cheers

    Mary Anne

    • Thank you so much, that’s very sweet of you! I love your work as well! The stencil is one I made using a plastic divider and a heat tool, along with a few other stencils (you can see them here if you want πŸ™‚ ) Thank you so much for stopping by and for your sweet comment!

Leave a Reply

