Gelli prints, stamps, and stencils = happy!

These are some of my favorite prints from my latest gelli printing session. Most of the prints made the cut for the journal, and I started cutting them to size and folding them before I remembered to take pictures, which is why some of them have a crease running across the center of them. Oops!

I started out with an idea in mind for a gelli journal, so I limited my color pallet to hopefully avoid the pages clashing too much. I decided on turquoise, yellow, purple, pink, and orange. A bit of green, blue, and some black also snuck in there too 🙂 I love how the colors go together, and here and there I slipped in a few different shades for variety that still let everything be cohesive.

The first 10 prints or so that I made I used only 2 colors (pink and orange) and just one stamp for most of them. I had so much fun and got so many different results with just a handful of tools, I will definitely have to do that again! I used the “worn text” stamp from Tim Holtz to stamp both on the gelli plate and onto pages after being stamped on the gelli plate. I also used a canvas to lift a print from the gelli plate and it left an awesome grid texture behind for the next print! My favorite flower stamp (the jumbo peony stamp from Stampendous) found its way onto some of the pages and the canvas, even the paper I used to clean my brayer got stamped 🙂 Eventually I did start using the other colors, stamps, and stencils,  for the rest of the pages, but the first ones with the pink and orange are still some of my all time favorites!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Also, Nov 1st was the start of NaNoJouMo 2013(national non-stop journaling month) held by Dawn D Sokol. Its a month long art journaling prompt-a-day, this year’s prompts are song titles from Dawn’s personal playlist. I had so much fun with this last year (you can check out the art journal pages I made for NaNoJouMo last year here) and I am so excited for this years prompts! It’s free, easy(no rules!), and a good way to motivate yourself to art journal at least a little everyday! You don’t have to worry if you miss a prompt or two, you don’t have to finish a whole page a day,  and you can use the prompts (or lyrics from the rest of the song) anyway you want 🙂 I think it’s fun to use prompts I might not normally use, and it gives me new and different journal pages 😀 There is also a facebook page to share your pages if you want!

Thanks so much for stopping by!!

About kittyisnotamused

I am an eclectic crafter whose hobbies currently include knitting, crochet, making journals, cooking, and quilting, although I have also been addicted to jewelry making, scrapbooking, sewing, and many others. My passion for creating runs a wide gamut and jumps back and forth from new hobbies to old often. I live with my hubby and our 3 pets: 1 grown puppy with the attention span of a goldfish, and 2 lazy chubby kitties. Kitties who, despite my best efforts to gain their enthusiasm, show no interest in what I'm working on except to lay on whatever it is occasionally. The hubby's reactions are better, which is why he gets many handmade items and the kitties only a few, but his reactions are usually confused smiles and nods with "thats great sweety!" The dog shows the most enthusiasm but mostly that translates into her trying to snot and eat whatever I am showing to her... I suppose thats just life tho :) Thanks for stopping in, feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in Art journal, gelli plate prints and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gelli prints, stamps, and stencils = happy!

  1. ukmaryanne says:

    I love your choice of colours. Totally yummy. And as I struggle with AJ (SOOOOOO many ideas attempted and all ending in epic fails, although I am doing ok sort of weekly at the moment :)) so the NaNoJouMo link is very interesting for me. Cheers!

    Mary Anne

Leave a Reply

