Howdy!

Just a quick stop in to share a peek of some of what I have been working on recently!

DSC_0869 (431x600)

A nearly finished art journal page, made over a some paint remnants and stencil clean-ups. Over the multiple stenciled layers, I added a figure by way of a mask that I cut out from a magazine ad, and went around it with some purple acrylic paint, then I added the border of black hexagons. I used a white gel pen for the journaling in the figure, and a silver gel pen for the flowers and vine doodles around the figure. The journaling is about being yourself and holding onto “you” even when the world is pressing in on you and trying to get you to be more of what “it/they” want you to be. I love how this page is coming along, the only thing I think I want to add to it is a bit more of the vine-like stencil in black that you can see along the left side.DSC_0875 (541x600)Here is one of the faces I did recently, and I really like how it turned out! I sat down to just play and I think being so relaxed and not trying too hard is what made this one come together so well. I have noticed that when I sit down with the intention to draw, I try to plan what I’m going to do and how it’s going to turn out, and that really intimidates me I think. Because if I know how I want it to turn out, and it doesn’t actually go that way, I get frustrated and put it down, instead of letting things come together in a relaxed way and just being happy with the drawing as it emerges. I have been trying to catch myself when I do that but it’s an on-going process ๐Ÿ™‚

I hope all is well with you, and as the holidays are in full swing don’t get so caught up in the rush that you forget to slow down and enjoy the moment!!

Thanks so much for stopping by!

About kittyisnotamused

I am an eclectic crafter whose hobbies currently include knitting, crochet, making journals, cooking, and quilting, although I have also been addicted to jewelry making, scrapbooking, sewing, and many others. My passion for creating runs a wide gamut and jumps back and forth from new hobbies to old often. I live with my hubby and our 3 pets: 1 grown puppy with the attention span of a goldfish, and 2 lazy chubby kitties. Kitties who, despite my best efforts to gain their enthusiasm, show no interest in what I'm working on except to lay on whatever it is occasionally. The hubby's reactions are better, which is why he gets many handmade items and the kitties only a few, but his reactions are usually confused smiles and nods with "thats great sweety!" The dog shows the most enthusiasm but mostly that translates into her trying to snot and eat whatever I am showing to her... I suppose thats just life tho :) Thanks for stopping in, feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in Art journal and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

