I’ve become lost, send pizza…

Have you ever gotten one of those promotions from CVS or someplace like that for 10 cent prints, and you think ” hey I haven’t printed any photos in a while, I should really do that!” And then you start sorting through pictures, trying to decide which ones you really love, and wondering why you have four of what seems to be the same shot of almost everything you’ve ever taken a picture of, and then you are deleting* some to save room, and reorganizing all your pictures, and before you know it, you’re lost in the world of  picture sorting and its been hours since you’ve surfaced and by the time you do reemerge from your computer the day is halfway gone, you haven’t eaten anything, and you’ve forgotten what started all the madness.

*You tell yourself to be ruthless, keep only the pictures you really love, and delete the rest. And at first you’re doing good; 35 pictures from the kid-you-used-to-babysits birthday party four years ago where you only knew like 3 people? You keep one or two good shots of the birthday kid, and the rest, BAM, gone! Easy peasy. But it gets harder. The dozen or so (or millions, depending on how much of an animal person you are. Personally my cats and dog are super photogenic, I can’t help that they are adorable and end up in front of my camera lens so much, lol) pictures you have of your pet doing something cute, you can’t decide which one is the best, because they’re all so cute, and you don’t want to delete one and regret it because you might never get the chance to retake it and what if the one you are going to delete is somehow the best out of the dozen (million) so you can’t possibly get rid of those, but you’ll come back to them. That’s it! You’ll save them for later, when you are more emotionally distant and the decision doesn’t make you feel as if you are getting rid of a family member, instead of just a picture. Those photos, man, they cling to you. Not like a crying kid screaming for candy, but like the sad, quiet kids you see on the commercials that ask for donations to feed starving children. The photos stare at you with big sad eyes saying “How can you delete me? What did I do? ” And you’re like “it’s just a picture, I can do this! Oh, but it’s so cute, I’ll save that  one. And that one. And…I’ll come back to these later….” and then when you think you’ve finally reached the end and have actually made a dent in all the chaos, you realize you still have 3657 photos of the 3987 you started with, and you bang your head on the desk.*

Then, you accidentally highlight a large majority of your photos when you meant to just click on one and hit delete before you realize what you’ve done, and suddenly your day is a lot more free than it was a few seconds beforehand….. (-_-)

-What did you do today?

-“I spent most of the morning and afternoon organizing and deleting photos.”

-How many do you have?

-“About 200”

-What took so long then?

-“I started out with almost 4000 and I accidentally deleted about 3500 four hours after I started.”

-Oh. That sucks.

-“Yes, yes it does”

 

About kittyisnotamused

I am an eclectic crafter whose hobbies currently include knitting, crochet, making journals, cooking, and quilting, although I have also been addicted to jewelry making, scrapbooking, sewing, and many others. My passion for creating runs a wide gamut and jumps back and forth from new hobbies to old often. I live with my hubby and our 3 pets: 1 grown puppy with the attention span of a goldfish, and 2 lazy chubby kitties. Kitties who, despite my best efforts to gain their enthusiasm, show no interest in what I'm working on except to lay on whatever it is occasionally. The hubby's reactions are better, which is why he gets many handmade items and the kitties only a few, but his reactions are usually confused smiles and nods with "thats great sweety!" The dog shows the most enthusiasm but mostly that translates into her trying to snot and eat whatever I am showing to her... I suppose thats just life tho :) Thanks for stopping in, feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in blogging, pets and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’ve become lost, send pizza…

  1. ukmaryanne says:

    Oh dear, oh dear. I had this, sort of, when I was organizing photos for the mini-album I’m working on. Except it was dragging out the two large photo-keepers that I brought over with us, that were all the pre-scrapbook, certainly pre-digital snaps, mostly of baby to toddler DS, ones where the negatives were stored back in the States.

    Because I have scrapped for YEARS, what was left in the box was pretty much the dregs. I had already cherry-picked the best shots. I ALSO had 4 shots of the same thing, even pre-scrapbooking, but then once I started I had 4 of everything and all developed as 4×6’s AND 5×7’s. It occurred to me that I really should throw away the rubbish ones, the poorly lit, out of focus, and the multiples at the very least. but it was just so HARD to make myself do it. And what is more important, maybe even scan photos from the box, only as printed, to get them in digital format, even if I have to go back to a layout to scan them in situ.

    I have over 14,000 photos in iPhoto. Your cautionary tale makes me feel like really, I need to make back-ups to DVD/flash drive/memory stick/SD card – not just the continuous time-machine back up (every few minutes) and the once a month full backup. I have maybe 200 photos, printed and digital, that I feel like I would be heartbroken if I lost them.

    Sorry, I am babbling a bit, but you’ve struck a chord with me this morning….I am running an old iPhoto version, but if I delete photos they go to the iPhoto trashcan, and hang about there till I take out the trash. They can still be recovered – right click and Restore to Photo Library. Are you sure however you deleted them they can’t be retrieved? Or is it actually a relief the decision has been taken out of your hands? 🙂

    Mary Anne

    • Oh my!! And I thought I had a lot of photos 🙂
      As it turns out, not all of them are gone for good. A good majority of them were saved to an external hard drive ( completely unsorted and unorganized, but I don’t think I’ll be pressing my luck there again anytime soon, lol), and I can also go through my pictures on flickr, and wordpress’s media library and re-save any I really want. So all is not lost! Just hours of my life that I can never get back 😛 I definitely recommend having at least one back up save for your pictures, because so many are once in a lifetime events.
      And, I did get (homemade) pizza yesterday! So after the frustration of accidentally deleting so many pictures, then the relief of finding the backups, and eating pizza, the day ended on a pretty good note 🙂

Leave a Reply

