Around here

So much random stuff going on around here.

 First off, I finally finished the cake topper penguins I was working on for my best friends wedding (in May). And these ones actually look penguin-ish! It was a lot harder to get decent looking penguins than I thought it would be for some reason. The other two sets I made before this one turned out a bit scary :/ I finished these up to show the bride the day before we were leaving to go up to PA for the tough mudder and to visit. Cut it a bit close but I made it! The girl penguin still needs her veil and there will be a flower in her hair(?), but that should be the easy part.

IMG_2461 (600x450)IMG_2471 (450x600)

 The tough mudder went well, no injuries for our team, and I think they had a great time, despite how exhausted they were by the end. Those of us spectating were amazed at the comradery  shown by the participants, not just to their own team mates but to complete strangers as well. Some of the obstacles would have been impossible for just three people to complete alone, but there was always someone willing to  jump in and help, and I think that was half the appeal of the tough mudder.

DSC_0112 (600x401)

The obstacle “pyramid scheme” was my favorite, and a great example of all of the participants helping each other.

Also, the star wars movies are a total lie! Darth Vader and Chewy are homies, not enemies, see:

DSC_0036 (401x600)

Vader is a great guy, he was even at the top of the “Everest” obstacle helping people up! Hollywood gave him a bum wrap. 😛

While we were up visiting, our dog Waffles got to make a new friend 😀 Meet Ruger! Adorable, playful, and always on the go! Hard to get a non-blurry picture of him because he doesn’t like to slow down, but he and Waffles had a great time. He’s about 10 months old, with feet he has yet to grow into, and an adorable puppy smile that you can’t help but return, even after he runs you over, lol.

IMG_2495 (450x600)IMG_2498 (450x600)IMG_2483 (450x600)

They got to have a couple of play dates while we were there, so they are totally BFF’s now. 😛

We went up to a place called (among family, I have no idea what the actual name is) “freddie’s bridge”. It used to be an old iron bridge that had seen much better days before it started to collapse and was closed. I loved the old bridge! But it has recently been torn down and replaced by a new concrete bridge, which is good for the locals I’m sure, with the road being able to be reopened again, but it’s a boring humdrum bridge now. 😦 The creek that flows under it tho was still quite fun, although very very cold. I totally fell in.  Thankfully I didn’t have my new Nikon in hand when I took a dip 😛

DSC_0369 (600x401) DSC_0383 (401x600) DSC_0429 (600x401) (600x401)DSC_0388 (600x401)

I take comfort in not being the only one who fell in, Waffles also dunked herself 🙂

IMG_2515 (450x600)

Waffles was a very sad puppy when we left; this was her after she figured out we were heading home, and she didn’t change that position much the whole way home on the 11 hour drive :/

IMG_2516 (450x600)

Despite the look on his face, Nova was very happy to see us. He wouldn’t stop talking when we were trying to unpack and put everything away, he desperately needed his pets and attention 🙂 After getting his pets in, he eventually stopped following us around and proceeded to observe from the couch while things were returned to their normal place. Gizmo wasn’t seen for a whole day after our return. On day 2 she emerged and demanded her share of pets as well, then went back to her important cat stuff:

IMG_2453 (450x600)

IMG_2346 (450x600)

This little guy stopped by on our back porch for a visit. So cute!

IMG_2460 (600x450)

Finished my second handspun yarn 😀 There is still a lot I need practice with spinning my own yarn, like with this one I think I over spun it, but it is so much fun and even if it is a bit twisty, it’s still awesome because I made it myself!

Thanks so much for stopping by!!

About kittyisnotamused

I am an eclectic crafter whose hobbies currently include knitting, crochet, making journals, cooking, and quilting, although I have also been addicted to jewelry making, scrapbooking, sewing, and many others. My passion for creating runs a wide gamut and jumps back and forth from new hobbies to old often. I live with my hubby and our 3 pets: 1 grown puppy with the attention span of a goldfish, and 2 lazy chubby kitties. Kitties who, despite my best efforts to gain their enthusiasm, show no interest in what I'm working on except to lay on whatever it is occasionally. The hubby's reactions are better, which is why he gets many handmade items and the kitties only a few, but his reactions are usually confused smiles and nods with "thats great sweety!" The dog shows the most enthusiasm but mostly that translates into her trying to snot and eat whatever I am showing to her... I suppose thats just life tho :) Thanks for stopping in, feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in Life, pets, Travels and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

