Goodbye NC, hellooooooo AZ!

14937568584_2b5a177068_oThings are finally calming down around here. Whew! We moved across the country (again), finally got a house, moved in, cleaned it (so glad THAT is finally over) and are just about all unpacked. It has been a long freaking month! The whole moving thing seemed like such an impossible task at times, especially on the drive here, but we made it 🙂 (having done this twice already I’m not sure why this time was different, but I was definitely more stressed this time) The drive was very pretty at times tho, and I rocked out to oldies most of the way ;P

There was a small crisis at one of the hotels on the way over when one of our little darling fuzzballs, Gizmo, played Houdini and crawled into the wall through a small hole under the sink to hide under the shower, causing me to panic. She wouldn’t come out for anything; not sweet talking, food, snacks, or even wet cat food. Finally the manager went into the next room and banged on the bathtub wall in there, which scared her out. I wanted to simultaneously hug and strangle her. After that every hotel room was thoroughly inspected for even the smallest escapist opportunity.

15527449010_6167505d66_o

She has since adjusted well after her recapture, lol.

In between packing and moving, I got some knitting done. Check out my new cute pom pom hat:0143895fb9e356b6f51e6c4d68eb47347e2c273e73 018ad0154da4bbc76acf6244558f040df17cb967cd (ignore the packing mess, please)

I love this hat! It’s cute, it’s comfy, it was pretty fast to knit. The yarn is Malabrigo Yarns Rios, color Jupiter. And the pattern is Karen Borrel’s “I heart Pom Poms hat” found on Ravelry. Love it!

My craft room has been the last to get unpacked, and I can’t wait to get it all out of boxes and organized! There are a lot of cool challenges/daily art journal prompts going on right now, and coming up soon, like Dawn Sokol’s NaNoJouMo, and her online holiday art journaling workshop that starts Dec 2nd(free), there was inktober from Jake Parker (which I completely missed being internet-less almost all of October, but there are some awesome and inspiring things all over the internet that people have made in relation to it, so I am still checking it all out), NaNoWRiMo, The Documented Life project from Art to the 5th, which will be starting anew Jan 1st (so hopefully I will be able to keep up with it this time ;P ), just to name a few.  I also signed up for another Jane Davenport class, Frolicaholic, and I just bought Alena Hennessy’s new book “The Painting Workbook” which I can’t wait to get into! So I really need to get my art stuff out and accessible soon 🙂

Thanks so much for stopping by!!

 

About kittyisnotamused

I am an eclectic crafter whose hobbies currently include knitting, crochet, making journals, cooking, and quilting, although I have also been addicted to jewelry making, scrapbooking, sewing, and many others. My passion for creating runs a wide gamut and jumps back and forth from new hobbies to old often. I live with my hubby and our 3 pets: 1 grown puppy with the attention span of a goldfish, and 2 lazy chubby kitties. Kitties who, despite my best efforts to gain their enthusiasm, show no interest in what I'm working on except to lay on whatever it is occasionally. The hubby's reactions are better, which is why he gets many handmade items and the kitties only a few, but his reactions are usually confused smiles and nods with "thats great sweety!" The dog shows the most enthusiasm but mostly that translates into her trying to snot and eat whatever I am showing to her... I suppose thats just life tho :) Thanks for stopping in, feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in knitting projects, Life, pets, Travels and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Goodbye NC, hellooooooo AZ!

  1. Glad kitty was wrangled safely and is happy now! I hope you enjoy Frolicaholic!

  2. Denise Spillane says:

    Hi, missed your posts. So glad your Gizmo is happy in her new home. Hope you get your art on soon and love your hat. Happy new home!

  3. Phew – glad we’re not the only ones dealing with the stress of moving cross-country. Woof! I feel like it’s been a consistent theme on my blog for decades… it’s been three weeks! Would love any tips you’ve got on making a new place feel (quickly) like home!

    • I’m not sure about quickly, but our house started to feel more like home when we were able to start unpacking and getting things put into their new places after we were finally done cleaning. Just focus on one step at a time. I hope you get settled quickly into your new home!

  4. ukmaryanne says:

    Lovely to be settled in, isn’t it? The hardest thing was being in the UK while all my crafty stuff was “on the way” from VA for months…. Looking forward to seeing your posts again – and love the knitting. I’ve jumped down that rabbit hole a bit recently, working thru all the different methods to knit socks LOL! What ever did we do before Ravelry and You Tube??

    Good luck with ADL etc. I did TRY last year but came to it too late to really see it thru. NOW is the time to start sorting out the journal, ready to begin. I should know better, but I’m considering it too 🙂

    Enjoy the sunshine

    Mary Anne

    • Months of waiting for your crafty stuff?! Oh my! I’m not sure I would have handled that very well :/ I had a box of artsy stuff that I kept out to the very last day, although I didn’t have much time to play with any of it. But I felt better knowing it was there 🙂 Yay for knitting! I’ve never made a complete sock, much less trying different methods if making them, but maybe someday I will have the focus needed to make a whole pair 🙂 Knitting for me is a great winter hobby, it’s just so nice to curl up with some soft warm yarn when it’s chilly outside. Good luck with your ADL plans as well!

  5. Welcome to your new home – what an Adventure! Super cool hat too 😃

Leave a Reply

