Can you tell I’m a *bit* obsessed?

January has been filled with quite a bit of art time, and a couple of visits from family, so it has been a great month so far 🙂

Jane Davenport’s workshop ‘Supplies me‘ is running live right now, and I am loving the new videos and going over the techniques again. If you haven’t taken a class from Jane, you really should! She is a wonderful teacher, and she explains things in a very graspable way. In ‘Supplies me’ she shows you how to use all of your art supplies while creating beautiful and inspiring pages in her art journal. She also has a book that just came out called ‘Drawing and painting beautiful faces’ that is just filled with awesomeness! It’s loaded with her art, shows step by step how to draw and paint faces, and talks about art supplies and how to use them. It’s like having a portion of ‘Supplies me’ in a portable and hug-able slice of happy goodness 🙂 I am very much a visual person, and while I love, love, LOVE the book, I also LOVE being able to watch Jane create faces and pages in real time while listening to her explanations and direction, so I am a big advocate for the class with it’s videos and more in-depth coverage! (I am not affiliated with Jane or any of her classes, I’m just in love with her art, classes, ect, and want to share the love 😛 )

All right, enough art love puppy eyes, time for some show and tell!

DSC_0749 (600x401)DSC_0750 (377x600)DSC_0751 (368x600)                                                             Some pen sketches for Jane Davenport’s ‘Supplies me’ workshop. I tested almost every pen I could find in our living room pen cup, and might have tucked a favorite or two away to my art room afterwards 😛

DSC_0769 (600x423)    Pen with distress stains

DSC_0763 (600x404)Acrylic spray paint background, with distress stain, acrylic paint, and colored pencils on top. (again, can’t recommend Jane’s classes enough! This face compared to the faces I used to be able to draw, so much improvement!!) Still needs some words, but for right now it’s done 🙂

The Documented Life Projects week 2 prompt was the quote “The beginning is always today” by Mary Shelley and the art challenge was gesso. I used gesso through a couple of stencils, then added acrylic inks and splatters. I added some stamps, then I used a script brush to add doodles in ink and gesso, as well as add the quote. The ink is very vibrant, but I couldn’t make my camera cooperate in capturing the colors properly, so it definitely looks better in person. I went into this one without a clear idea of what I wanted to do, so it was mostly just playing and seeing what happened. I don’t think it looks “finished” but I’m not sure what, if anything, I could add to make it feel more finished to me.DSC_0759 (600x413)DSC_0760 (477x600)DSC_0761 (457x600)

The colors are definitely more awesome in person, I’m going to have to work on my camera skills to get it closer to capturing the real colors in the future….

Thanks so much for stopping by!

About kittyisnotamused

I am an eclectic crafter whose hobbies currently include knitting, crochet, making journals, cooking, and quilting, although I have also been addicted to jewelry making, scrapbooking, sewing, and many others. My passion for creating runs a wide gamut and jumps back and forth from new hobbies to old often. I live with my hubby and our 3 pets: 1 grown puppy with the attention span of a goldfish, and 2 lazy chubby kitties. Kitties who, despite my best efforts to gain their enthusiasm, show no interest in what I'm working on except to lay on whatever it is occasionally. The hubby's reactions are better, which is why he gets many handmade items and the kitties only a few, but his reactions are usually confused smiles and nods with "thats great sweety!" The dog shows the most enthusiasm but mostly that translates into her trying to snot and eat whatever I am showing to her... I suppose thats just life tho :) Thanks for stopping in, feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in Art journal, Doodles, drawing, Painting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Can you tell I’m a *bit* obsessed?

  1. zakryc says:

    You are getting REALLY good at drawing faces, and that is a really tough artistic challenge. Keep up the great work.

Leave a Reply

