Covers

IMG_3675 (521x600)

I was working on some new journals for my Etsy shop the other day and it got me to thinking about the different things you can use as a cover. I usually prefer a hardcover, like heavy chipboard or bookboard, but sometimes I am drawn to soft covers that you can fold under the book while you work. And making journals to sell,well that means I can work with a whole lot of different materials because peoples taste varies so much πŸ™‚ So I was wondering, what’s your favorite kind of cover?

About kittyisnotamused

I am an eclectic crafter whose hobbies currently include knitting, crochet, making journals, cooking, and quilting, although I have also been addicted to jewelry making, scrapbooking, sewing, and many others. My passion for creating runs a wide gamut and jumps back and forth from new hobbies to old often. I live with my hubby and our 3 pets: 1 grown puppy with the attention span of a goldfish, and 2 lazy chubby kitties. Kitties who, despite my best efforts to gain their enthusiasm, show no interest in what I'm working on except to lay on whatever it is occasionally. The hubby's reactions are better, which is why he gets many handmade items and the kitties only a few, but his reactions are usually confused smiles and nods with "thats great sweety!" The dog shows the most enthusiasm but mostly that translates into her trying to snot and eat whatever I am showing to her... I suppose thats just life tho :) Thanks for stopping in, feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in Art journal and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Covers

  1. ukmaryanne says:

    I love all of the covers. I have been very tempted by fabric and lately, by canvas. There is a discount store here that recently sold 2 A4 size canvas sketch pads for about $5. I have to admit I bought them to experiment with and wish I had scored a bunch more cause I think they are going to be fab. The have the floppiness but also more stability than plain paper or fabric. And they could be stuck to cereal box card or even cardstock for more weight but have a less rigid cover. For me, I tend to want to experiment with bindings more than cover material but experimenting with one, kinda leads you to experiment with the other!

    πŸ™‚

  2. beverlydyer says:

    I like journals that lay flat in order to draw and paint. Or to hold in my lap when field sketching.

  3. beverlydyer says:

    Hi, I’m in Chapel Hill NC!

    • Hi Beverly! Thanks you so much for stopping by and leaving a comment! I don’t think I’ve ever been to chapel hill, although we have gone past it on our way up to PA to visit family, is it a nice area?

Leave a Reply

