Documented life and Supplies me.

I have been thoroughly enjoying both “the Documented Life Project 2015” and Jane Davenport’s “Supplies Me”. I’ve got new prompts and videos to look forward to each week, and it has helped keep me on track and be creative regularly so far this year. With Jane’s class, I am getting more comfortable using my art supplies, and that has led to drawing and coloring some of my favorite  faces to date 🙂 And with the dlp2015, I have been more carefree with my pages, not trying to plan out what the page needs to be from beginning to end, or to have a finished page in my mind when I start. The pages I’ve made from that haven’t necessarily been my favorites, but I’m enjoying the process. On top of those two things, I’ve been working on pages from Kelly Kilmer’s class “journey of me” and creating pages while watching youtube videos from Christy Sobolewski aka ‘gulfsprite’. I think this has led to me creating more pages in just a week or two, that I did the last 6 months of 2014 combined. Which is a good thing 🙂 So, on to the pages!

DSC_0773 (415x600)

If you follow me on instagram(@kittyisnotamused), you would have seen this drawing when I first did it last month. I waited for a long time before coloring it because I was afraid of messing it up, but I finally got the courage to take colored pencils to it. And I love how it turned out! It is definitely my favorite face drawing I’ve done so far. 🙂

DSC_0774 (600x401) DSC_0775 (600x446)

Colored pencil drawings, practicing burnishing for color blending.

DSC_0780 (600x403)DSC_0786 (600x410)

Documented Life Project 2015 week’s 3 and 4.

DSC_0779 (469x600)

Journal page from magazine cutouts and scrapbook papers, with Alison Krauss lyrics. If you haven’t checked out Kelly Kilmer’s journal pages, you really should! She posts just about everyday, and her pages are very cool, filled with layers of images, paint, and markers. I love them, and I just had to get two of her classes to learn her process to start making my own!

DSC_0777 (480x600)

And this is a random journal page that I started out with some doodling, and then colored with watercolors. The paper is not watercolor paper, and so the paints didn’t behave very well on it, and I wasn’t able to get the blending I wanted to because the paints soaked into the papers too quickly. But It was fun just to play and try out a medium I don’t use very often. I added details and tried to get some better blending with colored pencils, and I like it a bit better now than when it was just watercolor on the page. Practice practice! Christy Sobolewski has a channel on youtube where she shows her daily journal pages, creates whole pages on camera, and does journal flips, on a regular basis, so if you are looking for inspiration, that is a good channel to check out!

Thanks so much for stopping by!!

About kittyisnotamused

I am an eclectic crafter whose hobbies currently include knitting, crochet, making journals, cooking, and quilting, although I have also been addicted to jewelry making, scrapbooking, sewing, and many others. My passion for creating runs a wide gamut and jumps back and forth from new hobbies to old often. I live with my hubby and our 3 pets: 1 grown puppy with the attention span of a goldfish, and 2 lazy chubby kitties. Kitties who, despite my best efforts to gain their enthusiasm, show no interest in what I'm working on except to lay on whatever it is occasionally. The hubby's reactions are better, which is why he gets many handmade items and the kitties only a few, but his reactions are usually confused smiles and nods with "thats great sweety!" The dog shows the most enthusiasm but mostly that translates into her trying to snot and eat whatever I am showing to her... I suppose thats just life tho :) Thanks for stopping in, feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in Art journal, Doodles, drawing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Documented life and Supplies me.

  1. iHanna says:

    Lots of yummy pages, lovely colors, beautiful drawings. Yum!

Leave a Reply

