A not-done-in-time-for-winter-like-i-thought-it-would-be scarf

I can’t believe how fast this year has gone and that the holidays are almost upon us (O_o) I am so not ready for Christmas. Nor for Thanksgiving either, especially as we are actually having family over for it for the first time since we’ve been married! But no pressure or anything….lol

So, artsy stuffs! I have been working on and off on this scarf for months. I love the yarn, and the pattern, I just have the attention span of a goldfish most of the time 🙂

DSC_0099 (600x398) DSC_0100 (600x401)

It needs blocked, but once it’s done you will be able to see the eyelets that run up each side of the columns. The pattern is “Favorite scarf ever” by Lisa Bruce and the yarn I used is ‘Tapping Tootsees’ from Done Roving Yarn in the colorway “Summer sunrise”. The pattern is great and it’s pretty quick to memorize, but there was definitely a learning curve for me in the beginning.  The first 13 or 14 rows I wasn’t getting the “slip two stitches knitwise together, k1, pass 2 stitches over” as you can see in the closeup pic. But after some youtube surfing, I found a video that showed me what I was doing wrong and then suddenly it made sense! The actual way you are supposed to do that double decrease is way easier than the way I was doing it wrong, so once I knew what I was doing the knitting actually went faster 🙂 I had struggled so much with the first part, that I couldn’t bring myself to rip it out and start over. I left the mistakes in figuring it’s just for me and doesn’t have to be perfect.

This is the only knitting I took with me when I went back to PA for my best friend’s wedding, and I knit it on the plane, and during any downtime between planning and making and going and doing for the wedding. It grew really fast and I thought “I will most definitely have a new scarf in time for winter this year!”. Riiiight. Once I got home and went back to work, the knitting momentum slowed to a snails pace and now it’s winter and I has no new scarf to wear 😦 But that’s the thing with knitting, it surprisingly doesn’t get any bigger if you never pick it up and knit it. Who would have thunk, right? lol

I also have a couple of drawings to show, although neither one is really “done” yet.

DSC_0105 (401x600) DSC_0104 (401x600)

Practice, practice, practice…

Oh, and check out our Christmas cards for this year, arn’t they cute!?

DSC_0097 (600x431)

I just love them 🙂

I hope you are warm and comfy where ever you are, preparing for the holidays and just doing all the day to day stuffs that always needs done. Take care!

Thanks so much for stopping by!!

About kittyisnotamused

I am an eclectic crafter whose hobbies currently include knitting, crochet, making journals, cooking, and quilting, although I have also been addicted to jewelry making, scrapbooking, sewing, and many others. My passion for creating runs a wide gamut and jumps back and forth from new hobbies to old often. I live with my hubby and our 3 pets: 1 grown puppy with the attention span of a goldfish, and 2 lazy chubby kitties. Kitties who, despite my best efforts to gain their enthusiasm, show no interest in what I'm working on except to lay on whatever it is occasionally. The hubby's reactions are better, which is why he gets many handmade items and the kitties only a few, but his reactions are usually confused smiles and nods with "thats great sweety!" The dog shows the most enthusiasm but mostly that translates into her trying to snot and eat whatever I am showing to her... I suppose thats just life tho :) Thanks for stopping in, feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in drawing, knitting projects and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

