Handspun hat, some bags, and the festival

So I finished my handspun hat, just before coming down with the plague for about a week and a half. That wasn’t fun. But the hat is awesome! I even got to wear it to work the other morning when it was cold and I was still sick. It’s a good slouchy hat, with happy colors that make me smile, and I made it from yarn I spun! Woot woot!

DSC_0025 (600x401) DSC_0026 (600x401)

So much happy!

Once I finished the hat, I sorted through my stash to see what I wanted to cast on next and I think it’s going to be the “Sugared Maple” fingerless mitts by Melissa Schaschwary. I love the texture of the fabric, and I’m planning on using some cascade 220 heathers, so fingers crossed I get gauge!

We got to go to the Renaissance Festival recently, first one I had ever been to! It was so cool, I definitely want to go to another one 🙂 All the costumes, both performers and pedestrians alike, were awesome! Some of the costumes really made you worry about the person getting heatstroke because they were made of heavy brocade and lots of layers, and to see the people just out walking around in the sun it didn’t seem like a good idea. A few of the costumes were a bit weird and out of place, like the guy dressed as the pyramid head from silent hill. There were quite a few fairies, a Quasimodo, pirates, robin hoods, and a giant tree. And many of these were just regular people who came to the festival, not performers 🙂 Gotta love people sometimes!

The highlight of the whole thing for me was definitely the spinning wheels. Yes wheels! As in more than one person spinning yarn! So awesome!! I freaked out when I was the ladys spinning yarn, but tried to do it silently so as not to scare them. I can’t wait to get a spinning wheel! So exciting!!

There was a ton of beautiful jewelry, glass blowing, candles and incense, ceramics, wood and leather working, face painting, photography, blacksmithing, and so many other cool things to see, but I only took about 5 pictures :/

IMG_5909 IMG_5903 IMG_5904 IMG_5905 IMG_5901

Oh, and there was an awesome wooden spiral staircase! *hearts!*

Other exciting news: there was a recent shop update! (shocking, I know. lol) I have some new project bags listed and ready to go!

DSC_0002 (600x463)DSC_0004 (600x432)

I plan to list some new handmade journals, some destashing paper packs, and possibly some stitch markers in the near future. If your interested, please stop over at my etsy shop and check them out!

Thank you so much for stopping by! Have a great day!

 

About kittyisnotamused

I am an eclectic crafter whose hobbies currently include knitting, crochet, making journals, cooking, and quilting, although I have also been addicted to jewelry making, scrapbooking, sewing, and many others. My passion for creating runs a wide gamut and jumps back and forth from new hobbies to old often. I live with my hubby and our 3 pets: 1 grown puppy with the attention span of a goldfish, and 2 lazy chubby kitties. Kitties who, despite my best efforts to gain their enthusiasm, show no interest in what I'm working on except to lay on whatever it is occasionally. The hubby's reactions are better, which is why he gets many handmade items and the kitties only a few, but his reactions are usually confused smiles and nods with "thats great sweety!" The dog shows the most enthusiasm but mostly that translates into her trying to snot and eat whatever I am showing to her... I suppose thats just life tho :) Thanks for stopping in, feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in crafting, knitting projects and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

