The spinning continues, and I have a sock!

I have been steadily working on my spinning, and each skein of yarn I make shows improvement, which makes me hugely happy! 🙂 I now have 4 skeins of bare hand spun, and I can absolutely see myself falling down the deep and consuming hole that is dyeing yarn. If you think I’m crazy, go to etsy or pinterest, and type in hand dyed yarn. It is awesome! So many beautiful color ways, so many amazing projects made with hand dyed yarn, and I really REALLY want to do that! I’ve already been thinking up color combos that I could do, and names for said combos….. I think this could be a real obsession 😀 Anyway, back to the now.

I just finished spinning some merino wool, and a merino/bamboo blend. Both ended up being pretty soft, and I think one of them will be the first hand spun from my wheel I use on a project! Don’t know what project yet, but I have a growing list on ravelry, so I’m sure I’ll find something!

I have some mulberry silk, black diamond bamboo, and some regular bamboo in my meager spinning stash, all 3 of which are a little daunting to spin as they are more slippery fibers than what I have been working with. I also picked up a braid of superwash merino/ tussah silk blend when I went to check out a new yarn shop in Phoenix the other day, so I might spin that one next.

DSC_0068 (600x401)

Merino/Tussah silk blend fiber

With the slippery fibers there are different techniques you can do, such as spinning from the fold, and while I have watched videos of that, I’ve never tried that technique before and I want to know more about what I should be doing when spinning those before I jump in. The mulberry silk in particular is so soft and I love the colors, I don’t want to mess it up. Actually when I ordered it, I completely misread the listing, and I thought it was merino. I was blinded by my love of the colorway and couldn’t read properly. That has to be it…

In other news, I knit my first sock! With all the podcasts I’ve been watching, and people I follow on instagram, everyone is knitting or has knit socks! I had been trying to decide what I wanted to knit next, and I realized I have a lot of hats already, I knit a shawl recently and I don’t wear shawls, I already have a scarf on the needles, and a sweater was a bit too much for me right now. I started to cast on the “Sugared Maple” fingerless mitts by Melissa Schaschwary, but wasn’t getting the gauge I needed, so I then cast on another shawl despite the “I don’t wear them” issue, but got a bit bored by it. I’m not even sure when exactly the urge to try socks struck, but I thought “socks are small, portable, and you can always use them!” so I pulled out some sock yarn I had got on clearance a very long time ago and started swatching!

I eventually decided on the “Darling Ribbed Ankle Socks” by: Ashley Darling and cast them on with DPN’s (Double pointed needles) but I wasn’t liking the needles. Halfway through the pattern I got seriously confused about what I was supposed to do, as the pattern is written to do one sock at a time, with magic loop. If your not a knitter it’s a little hard to explain, but basically you use a long circular needle (two knitting needles connected with a flexible cable) and you divide the stitches and knit half a round on the first needle, pull the second needle into the stitches on the cable, then knit the second half on the second needle. It’s really easy and a great way to knit small things without having to have tiny circulars in every size. So I asked some podcasters I follow what their favorite sock needles were, ordered some Addi turbo circular needles, and once they arrived I sorted out the sock thing and got a finished sock! Tahda!!

DSC_0083 (401x600)

It’s a real, actual knitted sock!

I also got this cool yarn valet, which lets me knit from the outside of the yarn cake without it rolling all over. So no collapsed yarny mess towards the end, which is awesome.

DSC_0099 (600x533)

Sock #2 on the needles.

In anticipation of the sock knitting thing going well, I purchased more needles and 3 more skeins of sock yarn already 😛 I am nothing if not prepared!

DSC_0056 (600x401)

Madelinetosh “Twist Light” in Composition Book Grey

DSC_0062 (600x401)

The Lemonade Shop “Mighty Sock” in Goldfish

DSC_0061 (600x401)

And Simply Socks “Simple Sock Yarn” in Orange to pair with the Goldfish for contrasting heels, toes, and cuffs.

Super exciting!!

I also made a basket with some chunky yarn I had in my stash to use in my rolling cart that now lives by the couch, holding my drawing, knitting, and spinning stuffs 🙂

With all the knitting and spinning stuff going on, I haven’t done any drawing or painting recently, although there has been quite a bit of sewing and I have some bags ready to list in my shop tomorrow. It’s been busy around here, but in a very good way!

Thanks so much for stopping by! Hope you’re having a great weekend!

About kittyisnotamused

I am an eclectic crafter whose hobbies currently include knitting, crochet, making journals, cooking, and quilting, although I have also been addicted to jewelry making, scrapbooking, sewing, and many others. My passion for creating runs a wide gamut and jumps back and forth from new hobbies to old often. I live with my hubby and our 3 pets: 1 grown puppy with the attention span of a goldfish, and 2 lazy chubby kitties. Kitties who, despite my best efforts to gain their enthusiasm, show no interest in what I'm working on except to lay on whatever it is occasionally. The hubby's reactions are better, which is why he gets many handmade items and the kitties only a few, but his reactions are usually confused smiles and nods with "thats great sweety!" The dog shows the most enthusiasm but mostly that translates into her trying to snot and eat whatever I am showing to her... I suppose thats just life tho :) Thanks for stopping in, feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in knitting projects, Spinning and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

