Don’t choke anyone with the fiber….

Moving has me like:

e45fd28290ddf72501f064d75b5eb04a (520x517)

Things have been quite crazy around here for the last few weeks. We were looking for a house to rent on the east side of Phoenix, and it has been rough. At one point we decided to look into buying a house, so having pets wouldn’t be an issue. But then we discovered all the fees, taxes, ect that go with buying a house, and it wasn’t feasible to buy a house to live in for just 2 years,  then try to sell it or rent it out. So, back to looking for a rental. Finally found one we liked, and we are in the process of packing everything up now! Can’t wait for the moving part of things to be done.

Oh well, on to the fun stuff!

First, yarny acquisitions!

I managed to snag yarn from two of Voolenvine’s shop updates! I love her colorways sooooo much! I was so excited when I was able to finally grab some after stalking her shop for a while now 😛 I think the first skein will be a shrug, possibly paired with the grey Madelintosh left over from my recently finished socks. The second one (pic to follow after the move) will be more socks, I think. Pretty sure. Don’t quote me on that later tho if it turns out I completely changed my mind, cause that’s just how I roll around here 😀 These are more loose possibilities than concrete plans.

DSC_0110 (600x401) DSC_0112 (600x401)

The next awesome skein I got was from Dyed in the Wool. Love the colors so much! These will most likely be socks!

DSC_0108 (600x401)DSC_0109 (600x401)

Wip’s:

Two, yes two, new pairs of socks! I have one completed sock of the first new set done, and I’ve started the second sock of the set, plus the first sock of another set 😛

13671099_950266845084822_1826426359_n_small2

I only have a pic of the first sock, I’m calling these socks my Koi pond socks. Yarns are The Lemonade shop’s mighty sock in Goldfish, and Simply sock yarn’s simple socks in Orange. My first toe up sock, with the seam free toe for toe up socks by Lynne Ashton, plain body, and at first I did the Fish Lips Kiss heel, but I ripped back and redid it in a german short row heel.

The second pair is cuff down, in the pattern Lancaster County blend socks by Wendy Ellis, in a minion colorway from Berry Colorful Yarnings Saturated Sock SS! Love the minions, and the yarn is dead on in color! Can’t wait to get a pic and show you!

Finished objects!

An actual completed pair of socks! That makes 4 socks I’ve knit and they actually fit my feet! Major victory! Again, ankle socks, because I hate long socks. The yarn is Madelintosh twist light in Composition book grey, I used size 2 us (2.75 mm) needles. The pattern is “Dolce” by Sheryl Greenfield, a free pattern on Ravelry.com, shortened to be ankle length.

DSC_0104 (600x401)

Spinning and Tour de Fleece 2016:

This was my first time participating in Tour de Fleece, which is a spinning event that coincides with Tour de France. There are teams, and challenges, but the point is to spin as much as you can during the tour. You can set your own goals like spinning x-ozs each day or spinning for x-amount of time each day, with rest days on the days the Tour de France riders have rest days. It was pretty cool, and my spinning definitely improved! I didn’t make it all the way to the end, with the days I had to work early almost always having no spinning in them, but I did get 3 full skeins, and 2 partial bobbins, which was a ton for me!

Llady Llama Fiber Co. Superwash Targee in silver and Garnet, a 4oz braid, 2 plied.

DSC_0121 (600x401)DSC_0120 (600x401)

Anzula Luxury Fibers in Earth, 4oz braid, 2 plied

DSC_0113 (600x401)DSC_0114 (600x401)

Paradise Fibers Black Diamond Bamboo, 4 ozs, 2 plied

DSC_0115 (600x401)DSC_0116 (600x401)

Halfway through TdF I ordered some more fiber, because my stash was running low, and I chickened out of spinning the super slippery bamboo and mulberry silk tops I have. I only got part way through filling a bobbin before the tour was over, but the merino fiber was beautiful and a dream t work with 🙂 So glad I bought two, it should definitely give me enough yarn to make a larger project!

Woolverine Fibers in Dancing Lessons, two 4 oz braids, not finished yet.

DSC_0117 (600x401)

Everyone in the ravelry groups for the tour were so nice, and supportive, I can’t wait until next year to do it again!

With the impending move, I have been going through my stuff and getting rid of a lot of craft supplies. There are bags of beads, and bundles of papers making their way to my etsy shop soon, along with a couple new project bags and some stitch markers! The shop is going to be an eclectic mess for a bit, but that the life of a maker with MOHD (Multiple Obsessive Hobby Disorder) 😛

Follow me on instagram or follow my Etsy shop for updates as things make their way into the shop if you’re interested!

Thanks so much for stopping by, see you after the move!!

About kittyisnotamused

I am an eclectic crafter whose hobbies currently include knitting, crochet, making journals, cooking, and quilting, although I have also been addicted to jewelry making, scrapbooking, sewing, and many others. My passion for creating runs a wide gamut and jumps back and forth from new hobbies to old often. I live with my hubby and our 3 pets: 1 grown puppy with the attention span of a goldfish, and 2 lazy chubby kitties. Kitties who, despite my best efforts to gain their enthusiasm, show no interest in what I'm working on except to lay on whatever it is occasionally. The hubby's reactions are better, which is why he gets many handmade items and the kitties only a few, but his reactions are usually confused smiles and nods with "thats great sweety!" The dog shows the most enthusiasm but mostly that translates into her trying to snot and eat whatever I am showing to her... I suppose thats just life tho :) Thanks for stopping in, feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in knitting projects, Spinning and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Don’t choke anyone with the fiber….

  1. sunmoongal says:

    Love seeing your posts again, missed them. Your yarns are georgeous and make me wish I could knit. Good luck with your move, I am not a fan of moving for sure.

Leave a Reply

